Ohio University

Students performing in concert

B.M. in Music Performance

Music Performance

Bachelor of Music Degree Program

What You'll Learn

Ohio University's performance faculty provides comprehensive study through private instruction, large and small ensemble experiences, chamber music, pedagogy and literature courses, and master classes.

Explore topics like:
Performance majors are prepared to preform repertoire from all periods available to his or her instrument or voice. Experience in solo, chamber music, and large ensemble performance is required. The program is a pre-professional course of study that prepares students to pursue advanced graduate degree programs in performance, to engage in professional performance activities, or to establish private teaching studios.

Career Opportunities

The discipline and critical insights gained from pursuing a professional degree in music can also have implications for other career options. Many individuals holding bachelor of music degrees have gone on to pursue distinguished professional careers in law, medicine, administration, and other fields.

Areas of focus include:

The Bachelor of Music Performance degree curriculum is rooted in applied music study with significant components in practical and academic skills. The degree program is designed for students demonstrating exceptional talent, technical aptitude, potential to interpret advanced repertoire, and those who are ready to commit to the rigorous preparation necessary to fully develop their artistic talents and abilities.

Applying to the Program

All students who seek admission to Ohio University with a major in Music must audition. The audition is for both admission and talent-based scholarship decisions.

Audition dates are scheduled for:

  • Saturday, December 8, 2018
  • Saturday, January 26, 2019
  • Saturday, February 16, 2019
  • Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Saturday, February 23, 2019

Music Performance Faculty

Area Chairs:

Woodwinds
Michele Fiala
Associate Professor of Oboe, Woodwind Division Chair
fialam@ohio.edu

Brass
John Schlabach
Professor of Trumpet
schlabac@ohio.edu

Strings
Dawn Dongeun Wohn
Assistant Professor of Strings
wohn@ohio.edu

Percussion
Roger Braun
Professor of Percussion
braunr@ohio.edu

Keyboard
Christopher Fisher
Professor of Piano; Chair, Keyboard Division, Music
fisherc@ohio.edu

Voice and Opera
Debra Rentz
Lecturer in Voice Division
rentz@ohio.edu

Conducting
Andrew Trachsel
Director of Bands; Associate Professor of Conducting, Music
trachsel@ohio.edu

Jazz Studies
Matthew James
Professor of Saxophones & Jazz Studies
jamesm1@ohio.edu

Meet All Faculty