Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Art + Design

School of
Ohio University > Fine Arts > Art > Academics > Programs > Photography + Integrated Media

Photography + Integrated Media



The area chair of the Photography + Integrated Media program is Professor Laura Larson. Prospective graduate students and others seeking additional information can contact Professor Larson at 

The Photography + Integrated Media Area offers an innovative M.F.A. curriculum that defines photographic practice in its most inclusive and experimental manifestations. The program builds upon the legacy of the historically renowned Clarence White School of Photography in New York, which was re-established at Ohio University in 1948 by his son, Clarence White, Jr., creating the first degree-granting program in photography at a major university in the country. The program has trained many successful alumni who are leaders in the field, and whose honors include Guggenheim Foundation and National Endowment for the Arts Fellowships.

The strength of the Photography + Integrated Media program lies in its leadership in innovative teaching, its use of the latest technology, and providing modern and spacious facilities. Its faculty encourages a diverse range of artistic practice founded upon a rigorous intellectual base. The curriculum encourages experimentation with a wide variety of processes and platforms ranging from black and white photography, to digital imaging and video, to interdisciplinary practice. Through strong technical and conceptual training, the program stresses the development of the photographer as an artist and the use of lens-based technologies as vital tools of creative expression, preparing students for rewarding careers in the field.

The Photography + Integrated Media Area hosts the Clarence White Jr. Fund Photography Lecture Series that features leading artists and scholars in the field of photographic media. These artists are an invaluable aspect of the program, meeting with students during their visits. Past visiting artist have included Nancy Davenport, Sadie Benning, Liz Deschenes, Kahn/Selesnick, Dan Graham, Geoffrey Batchen, Catherine Wagner, Jan Avgikos, Jim Campbell, Craig Kalpakjian, Nan Goldin, Clarissa Sligh, Burt Barr and Moyra Davey.


The Photography + Integrated Media Area consists of over 11,000 square feet of space located on two floors of Seigfred Hall. Four large communal B&W darkrooms contain over 50 enlargers, including 27 new Beseler 23 Cs. The color facilities include five color darkrooms and a Hope color print processing machine. Two large lighting studios, a digital imaging facility with Power Macintoshes, scanners, and a large scale color printer provide digital and image reproduction resources.


BFA Studio Art Course Requirement


Laura Larson

Area Chair, Professor of Photography + Integrated Media, Art
(740) 566-6468