Ohio University




Since our beginning more than 40 years ago, the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine has been guided by its founding idea: To train excellent osteopathic physicians who serve Ohio’s communities of greatest need, especially in primary care fields.

With the 2011 transformational award of $105 million from the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation, we embarked on a period of growth and renewal. Our initiatives have been built upon our strengths and the beliefs we have championed since our founding. They deliver on our promise of advancing our mission to meet the challenges of successfully preparing the next generation of physician leaders.

Our strategic planning process began in 2012-2013 by bringing together the college community to focus on our growth and renewal efforts. The 2015-2017 plan that emerged from this process provided a strategic road map as we developed new campuses, advanced our research and community care programs and strengthened the curriculum and programs in our clinical campus system.

In late 2016, we began developing a new plan using our 2015-2017 Heritage College Strategic Plan as the foundation to ensure our continuing success in training primary care physicians for Ohio. An experienced consulting firm facilitated the process. Our students, faculty, staff and external stakeholders participated in interviews, planning sessions and surveys to provide valuable feedback as we assessed the existing plan and determined our new goals.

We retained the four priorities of the 2015-2017 strategic plan: Transformative Education, Collaborative Research, Community Impact and All-Campus Success. All-Campus Success now has two parts – Workplace Excellence and Operational Excellence – and we added a new priority, Optimized Student Experience. These five priorities support a common goal: To increase the proportion of our graduates who enter primary care practice, especially in Ohio.

Strategic planning and review is a continuous, multifaceted process. Progress and updates for strategic priorities are gathered on a regular basis from each of the five team leads. The Heritage College Strategy Team and Executive Committee review the strategic priorities and are informed of progress and updates. The current overall strategic plan, including goals and objectives, is available on the website for all Heritage College students, faculty and staff to review and provide feedback/comments. In addition, the Heritage College's internal processes and its continuous improvement plan around meeting the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation standards play an important role in ensuring our strategic plan is on track. As we move forward, we will implement initiatives and continue to refine our plans by identifying objectives and key performance measures.

Heritage College Strategy Team

The purpose of the Heritage College Strategy Team is to implement the strategic plan of the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine.

The strategy team serves in an advisory role to the executive dean on all matters relating to the college’s strategy and strategic plan, including development, review and evaluation of policies, plans and processes. For questions and suggestions concerning the college strategic plan, please contact any member of the strategy team.


Kenneth Johnson, D.O.
Executive Dean, Heritage College

Isaac Kirstein, D.O.
Dean, Heritage College, Cleveland

Bill Burke, D.O.
Dean, Heritage College, Dublin

Beth Longenecker, D.O.
Dean, Heritage College, Athens

Darlene Berryman, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Research and Innovation

Wayne Carlsen, D.O.
Associate Dean, Clinical Education

John Schriner, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs

Jody Gerome Zuchowski, D.O.
Associate Dean, Curriculum

Karen Montgomery-Reagan, D.O.
Chair, Department of Pediatrics

Jack Ramey, D.O.
Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Interim Chair, Department of Specialty Medicine

Tom Rosol, DVM, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Biomedical Sciences

Tracy Shaub, D.O.
Chair, Department of Primary Care

Stevan Walkowski, D.O.
Chair, Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine

Nagesh Rao, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Social Medicine

Susan Williams, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of Faculty

Amy Zidron, D.O., Ph.D.
Assistant Clinical Professor
Elected Faculty Chair

Beth Maxon, PHR
Chief Operating Officer, Office of Administrative Services

Shelley Ruff, M.B.A.
Chief Financial & Strategy Officer, Office of Financial Services

P.J. Murphy, M.A.
Chief Public Affairs Officer

Tanisha King, Ph.D.
Chief Inclusion Officer

Rachael Crouch, M.A.
Chief of Staff

Brenda Noftz, Ph.D., J.D.
Senior Director, Strategy Management Office

Jill Breeze, M.Ed.
Program Manager, Strategy Management Office

The Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine Strategic Plan 2018-2021

View It Here