Search within:

2007 Phillips Medal Recipients

Phillips Medal Recipients

2007 Recipients

The Hon. John A. Carey

John A. Carey, Ohio State Senator for the 17th Senate District, is a determined proponent of affordable health-care options for the most vulnerable of Ohio's citizens and is a valued friend of the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine. He has sponsored bills to improve Ohio's mental health system for children, offer affordable home health care to the elderly, and afford veterans equitable representation on Veterans Service Commissions in large counties. He has also introduced measures to protect public safety and consumer rights. Senator Carey chairs several Senate committees, including the Committee on Education.

Daniel F. Dickriede, D.O.

Dr. Daniel F. Dickriede, a selfless volunteer, has given his time and talents in such places as Uganda, Rwanda, Zaire and Somalia, among others, to provide medical care for victims of war and poverty. His work began with the Nobel Prize-winning organization Medécins San Frontières- known in the United States as Doctors Without Borders-- in 1992, and continued in Alaska, where he served Eskimo villages above the Arctic Circle. He and his wife are currently planning to travel to Africa on a new medical mission that will take them across the continent.

Fred M. DeGrandis, J.D.

Fred M. DeGrandis, chief executive officer of the Western Region of the Cleveland Clinic Health System, is a skilled hospital administrator who combines a wealth of experience with and enthusiasm for education. He is a former member and Chairman of the Board of the Centers of Osteopathic Research and Education. A tireless volunteer in the Rocky River community, Mr. DeGrandis also has served on local school boards and volunteered with numerous health-care and charitable organizations. These efforts have earned for him several awards, including a 2006 Pillar Award for Community Service.