Search within:

2006 Phillips Medal Recipients

Phillips Medal Recipients

2006 Recipients

Alison A. Clarey, D.O., F.A.C.O.S.

Alison A. Clarey, D.O., F.A.C.O.S., is past president of the Ohio Osteopathic Association, a delegate to the American Osteopathic Association and later this year will serve as the first female president of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons. Dr. Clarey is a distinguished surgeon and recognized leader in osteopathic medicine. Her extensive humanitarian work, both at home and abroad, provides much needed care to vulnerable and underserved populations.

John R. Gimpel, D.O., M.Ed.

John R. Gimpel, D.O., M.Ed., is vice president for clinical skills testing for the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners. As a medical administrator, he developed board standards for testing all osteopathic medical students seeking licensure in the United States. While director of predoctoral education at Georgetown University School of Medicine, Dr. Gimpel was responsible for designing a competency-based, patient-oriented curriculum. He has been widely recognized for his teaching excellence and dedication to improving medical education.

The Hon. Joy Padgett

Joy Padgett is an Ohio State Senator and a founder of the Foundation for Appalachian Ohio. Padgett's legislative career is focused on promoting regional economic sustainability, community development and quality health care. Her early work as a teacher provided the framework for legislative initiatives that ensure a quality education for the children of Appalachia. Padgett is loyal friend and advocate for the citizens of Southeastern Ohio, Ohio University and the College of Osteopathic Medicine.