Ohio University

Search within:
Student walking on Ohio University Green
Sustainable Living Hub: Student Life

Sustainable Living Hub: Student Life

Snow on Ohio University campus green

Simultaneously benefiting the quality of life for our students, improving their economic prosperity, and reducing their carbon footprint now and in the future is the goal of our student life sustainability theme.  Initiatives that fall within this theme include wellness, diversity, inclusion, affordability and accessibility programs.

Sustainability Project Laboratory Logo

 

The Sustainability Project Laboratory is a database of sustainability-related project proposals. This resource hosts projects and project ideas that can be adopted by faculty, staff, and students for course projects, capstone or senior projects, theses, and more! Projects in the Student Life theme can be found here.

Student Life Category, Draft 2021 Sustainability & Climate Action Plan

How we're doing

Climate and Sustainability Ambassadors

The Climate and Sustainability Ambassadors is initiative started by Dr. Ryan Fogt in the spring of 2019 alongside the launch of the Sustainable Administration Hub.

The Ambassadors spend Fall semester participating, promoting, and hosting events on campus promoting a more sustainable Ohio University.

In the Spring semester the Ambassadors focus on outreach in Southeast Ohio.

Cats' Cupboard

The Cats’ Cupboard food pantry provides students access to fresh, frozen, and shelf stable food options to help with hunger.  Cats' Cupboard is located in Baker University Center, room 514.

The Cats’ Cupboard Food Pantry offers twice monthly pick-up of free food from the pantry. Pantry members can shop in person or fill out an order form and have their bags pre-packed.

Access to the pantry is provided by appointment.

EcoHouse

Basic Needs Initiative

OHIO Guarantee

 

Women's Mentoring Program

The Women's Mentoring Program is open to sophomores, juniors and seniors at OHIO University.

In this two semester-long program, mentees are paired with a female mentor in their personal and professional fields of interest during the Fall semester. Mentors and mentees decide on the format of their mentoring relationship and the time commitment they wish to make, but all are required to meet at least once a month, face-to-face, and to attend four cohort events each year.

Green Cleaning Products

Support the use of biodegradable and Earth friendly cleaning products 

Sustainability website & recruitment materials 

Other Student Groups

To see other student groups at OHIO with an interest in sustainability, search "sustainability" on BobcatConnect or click here.

Ohio University Experts

Name:  Contact:  Description:
Dr. Kim Thompson thompsk3@ohio.edu Sustainable Living Hub Coordinator 
Barbara Harrison

 

harrisob@ohio.edu Community engagement; experiential learning
Cynthia Anderson andersc2@ohio.edu Social inequality; labor wages
Edna Wangui wangui@ohio.edu Rural livelihoods and landscape change in East Africa; gender equality
Haley Duschinkski duschins@ohio.edu Human rights; International justice; Transitional justice
Harold Perkins perkinsh@ohio.edu Social justice; neoliberalization
Heather Hopgood hopgood@ohio.edu Green organic chemistry; student engagement; metacognition
Jieli Li lij@ohio.edu Sustainable development; globalization
Mariana Dantas dantas@ohio.edu Social justice; slavery
Mary Nally nallym@ohio.edu Social justice; food justice issues
Michele Morrone morrone@ohio.edu Environmental justice; food safety; Appalachian and rural environmental health
Miranda Kridler kridler@ohio.edu Smart growth, planning
Rachel Terman terman@ohio.edu Women's studies; sociology of gender and identities; social inequalities; sustainable agriculture
Risa Whitson whitson@ohio.edu Gender and development; social geographies
Stephen Scanlan scanlans@ohio.edu Environmental sociology; poverty/global inequality; social movements
Yegan Pillay pillay@ohio.edu Diversity and social justice issues
Micah McCarey mccarey@ohio.edu Director LGBT Center
Lisa Flowers-Clements flowersl@ohio.edu Assistant Director, Academic Support and Advising, OMSAR Interim Assistant Director, Women's Center
Dr. Chris Fowler fowlerc1@ohio.edu Interim Director, Office of Multicultural Success and Retention
Sam Crowl crowls1@ohio.edu Associate Director of Sustainability