Charge and Membership

Ohio University Research Council

The Ohio University Research Council provides support for faculty and contract staff research, scholarship and creative works in any field of study. Projects that are part of an advanced degree program of the applicant, that are directed toward development of curriculum or acquisition of instructional equipment, or that seek to further an administrative function of a department, college, or other university administrative unit are ineligible for support. Two review cycles are held during the academic year; the first is in the fall quarter with announcement of awards before the end of that quarter so that grant-supported activities can be conducted during the fall/winter quarter intersession. The second is late in the winter quarter with announcement of awards late in the winter quarter or early in the spring quarter. Awards at this cycle are primarily intended to facilitate grant activities during the summer. At other times throughout the year, the Chair of the Committee may make small ($500 or less) discretionary awards to persons who demonstrate particular need for such timely support.

The Committee reports its actions to the Vice President for Research. Guidelines for awarding can be found at https://www.ohio.edu/research/Funding.cfm. 

Composition  

Faculty :  12 Voting
Students :  2 Voting Graduate Students
Administrative : 3 Voting (1 At Large; 1 VP for Research and Creative Activity; 1 Asst VP for Research and Creative Activity)
Classified : 0

Total : 17


Committee Roster

Faculty        
Candice Thomas-Maddox, Chair thomas@ohio.edu Social and Behavioral Sciences 2019
Hao Chen chenh2@ohio.du A&S Chemistry & Biochemistry 2019
Robert Ingram ingramr@ohio.edu History 2020
Nukhet Sandal sandal@ohio.edu Political Science 2020
Sarah Garlington garlingt@ohio.edu Social and Public Health 2020
Dennis Delaney delaney@ohio.edu Theater 2020
Haesun Park-Poaps poaps@ohio.edu Retail Merchandising 2020
Kelly McCall mccallk@ohio.edu Specialty Medicine 2020
David Nguyen nguyend4@ohio.edu Higher Education & Student Affairs 2021
Emilia Alonso markse@ohio.edu Spanish/Modern Languages 2021
John McCarthy mccarthj@ohio.edu Communication Sciences & Disorders/Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies 2021
Julie  Roche rochej@ohio.edu Physics 2021
         
Graduate Students    
Abbey Rodjom ar197913@ohio.edu   2019
Susan Ngbabare bf093616@ohio.edu   2019
         
Administrators        
David Koonce   Interim Vice President for Research and Creative Activity  
Awaiting Additional Appointment  

 



All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.