Charge and Membership

Ohio University Research Council

The Ohio University Research Council provides support for faculty and contract staff research, scholarship and creative works in any field of study. Projects that are part of an advanced degree program of the applicant, that are directed toward development of curriculum or acquisition of instructional equipment, or that seek to further an administrative function of a department, college, or other university administrative unit are ineligible for support. Two review cycles are held during the academic year; the first is in the fall quarter with announcement of awards before the end of that quarter so that grant-supported activities can be conducted during the fall/winter quarter intersession. The second is late in the winter quarter with announcement of awards late in the winter quarter or early in the spring quarter. Awards at this cycle are primarily intended to facilitate grant activities during the summer. At other times throughout the year, the Chair of the Committee may make small ($500 or less) discretionary awards to persons who demonstrate particular need for such timely support.

The Committee reports its actions to the Vice President for Research. Guidelines for awarding can be found at https://www.ohio.edu/research/Funding.cfm. 

Composition  

Faculty :  12 Voting
Students :  2 Voting Graduate Students
Administrative : 3 Voting (1 At Large; 1 VP for Research and Creative Activity; 1 Asst VP for Research and Creative Activity)
Classified : 0

Total : 17


Committee Roster

Faculty

Alonso, Emilia
Modern Languages
markse@ohio.edu
2021

Carroll, Ronan
Biological Sciences
carrolr3@ohio.edu
2022

Delaney, Dennis
Theater
delaney@ohio.edu
2020

Garlington, Sarah
Social and Public Health
garlingt@ohio.edu
2020

Ingram, Robert
History
ingramr@ohio.edu
2020

Matlack, Glenn
Environmental and Plant Biology
matlack@ohio.edu
2022

McCall, Kelly
Specialty Medicine
mccallk@ohio.edu
2020

McCarthy, John
Communication Sciences and Disorders
mccarthj@ohio.edu
2021

Nguyen, David
Higher Education
nguyend4@ohio.edu
2021

Park-Poaps, Haesun
Retail Merchandising
poaps@ohio.edu
2020

Roche, Julie
Physics
rochej@ohio.edu
2021

Sandal, Nukhet
Poltical Science
sandal@ohio.edu
2020

Administrators

Carpenter, Scott
Administrator At-Large
carpentd@ohio.edu

Koonce, David
Graduate College
koonce@ohio.edu

Graduate Students

Elhersh, Ghanem
ge260518@ohio.edu

Moore, Alexis
am272614@ohio.edu



All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.