Ohio University

Search within:
College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

First Year Council

Charge and Membership

The First Year Council will be charged with the following responsibilities:

  1. Gain knowledge of all initiatives/programs/policies on campus affecting first year students (and would be the successor to the Foundations of Excellence Task Force).
  2. Set campus-wide priorities among competing first year initiatives. Coordinate and align first year programs, policies, and practices.
  3. Plan and advocate for first year student success initiatives.
  4. Increase the visibility of first year issues and programs within the university community.
  5. Sponsor regular First Year forums/open meetings/workshops to diffuse knowledge about, and commitment to, first year issues and programs across all campuses.
  6. Advocate for faculty development in first year teaching.
  7. Design and advocate for a faculty reward structure to encourage excellence in first year teaching and advising.
  8. Identify current first year student advocates among faculty on all campuses and recruit more.
  9. Consult widely with instructors of first year classes including but not limited to continuing faculty and teaching assistants.

Composition

Faculty
6 Voting
Students
1 Undergraduate Voting
Administrative
3 Voting; 6 Non-Voting Ex Officio

Committee Roster

Faculty

Angela Bohyer
bohyer@ohio.edu
Registered Dietitian/Nutrition Educator

Ryan Shepherd
shepherr@ohio.edu
English

Barbel Such
such@ohio.edu
Modern Languages

Administrators

Michael DePerro
deperro@ohio.edu
Senior Events Director

Ashlee Tatman
tatman@ohio.edu
Coordinator, Student Support & Academic Advisor

Logan Waldie
waldie@ohio.edu
Academic Advisor, Nursing

Administrators, Ex-Officio

Tricia Barrick
barrick@ohio.edu
Bursar

Debra M. Benton
bentond@ohio.edu
University Registrar

Jen Maskiell
flowersj@ohio.edu
Director of Residence Life Operations

Wendy Merb-Brown
merbw@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean for Operations and Learning Community Programs

Valerie K. Miller, MBA
millerv@ohio.edu
Director of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships

Vincent Prior
priorv@ohio.edu
Director of Undergraduate Orientations

Barb Remsburg
remsburg@ohio.edu
Director of Learning Community Programs

Joni Wadley
schallej@ohio.edu
Institutional Research

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.