Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

First Year Council

Charge and Membership

The First Year Council will be charged with the following responsibilities:

  1. Gain knowledge of all initiatives/programs/policies on campus affecting first year students (and would be the successor to the Foundations of Excellence Task Force).
  2. Set campus-wide priorities among competing first year initiatives. Coordinate and align first year programs, policies, and practices.
  3. Plan and advocate for first year student success initiatives.
  4. Increase the visibility of first year issues and programs within the university community.
  5. Sponsor regular First Year forums/open meetings/workshops to diffuse knowledge about, and commitment to, first year issues and programs across all campuses.
  6. Advocate for faculty development in first year teaching.
  7. Design and advocate for a faculty reward structure to encourage excellence in first year teaching and advising.
  8. Identify current first year student advocates among faculty on all campuses and recruit more.
  9. Consult widely with instructors of first year classes including but not limited to continuing faculty and teaching assistants.

Composition

Faculty
6 Voting
Students
1 Undergraduate Voting
Administrative
3 Voting; 6 Non-Voting Ex Officio

Total
16

Committee Roster

Faculty

Ghirmai Negash
negashg@ohio.edu
Director of African Studies
Professor, English & African Literature

Laura Saltman
saltman@ohio.edu
Biological Sciences
2021

Matthew Stallard
stallard@ohio.edu
English
2021

Barbel Such
such@ohio.edu
Modern Languages
2022

Administrators

Alexander Ecklund (2021)
ecklund@ohio.edu
Accessibility Coordinator
Student Accessibility Services
2021

Wendy Merb-Brown
merbw@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean for Operations and Learning Community Programs
2021

Eileen Theodore-Shusta
theodore@ohio.edu
University Libraries
2021

Administrators, Ex-Officio

Tricia Barrick
barrick@ohio.edu
Bursar

Debra Benton
bentond@ohio.edu
University Registrar

Kris Kumfer
kumfer@ohio.edu
Learning Community Programs

Jen Maskiell
flowersj@ohio.edu
Associate Director Assessment
& Academic Initiatives
Residential Housing

Valerie K. Miller, MBA
millerv@ohio.edu
Director
Financial Aid

Vincent Prior
priorv@ohio.edu
Director of Undergraduate Orientations

Joni Wadley
schallej@ohio.edu
Institutional Research

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.