Kennedy / Frontiers in Science Lecture Committee

Charge and Membership

The purpose of the Kennedy/Frontiers in Science Lecture Committee is to bring nationally recognized visitors to the University to lecture and to participate in other campus activities that serve to enrich the lives of members of the university and Athens communities. Visitors shall appeal to a broad cross-section of the university community, bringing new and stimulating thought on major public issues of the day, cultural affairs, important scientific issues, or scholarly fields of general interest.

This Committee reports to the Provost.


6 Faculty
2 Undergraduate Students – at least one student must be a member of a minority population and 1 Graduate Student
2 Administrators and 2 Ex-Officio - A Dean or Associate Dean and the Vice Provost for Faculty Development will serve as ex-officio members of this committee and will have voting rights.
1 Community Member

Committee Roster


Michelle Bobo
Office Manager, HCOM-Administrative Services

Lisa S. Dael
Assistant Director, Online and Outreach Programs

Community Member

Wendy McVicker


Katherine Hartman
Vice Provost of Faculty Development

Matthew Shaftel
Dean, College of Fine Arts


Howard Dewald

Christi Moore

Judith Rhue
Heritage College

Jeff Russell
Health Sciences and Professions

David Russell
Fine Arts

Paul Shovlin

Graduate Student

Aaron Batke

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.