University International Council

Charge and Membership

The University International Council (UIC) serves the President and the Executive Vice President and Provost (EVPP) in an advisory capacity on global matters. Its broad charge is to propose new policies and support the initiation, implementation, and ongoing evaluation of global activities of the University. The UIC shall undertake proactive steps to monitor and encourage the globalization of the University’s academic and co-curricular programs, research, and creative activities.

More specifically, the UIC is charged with the following:

  • Supporting internationally focused academic programs and support units.
  • Encouraging and supporting faculty to incorporate global components into new or existing curricula.
  • Supporting faculty to participate in interdisciplinary global research and creative activities.
  • Fostering faculty and staff engagement in global activities for professional purposes.
  • Encouraging students to actively participate in global academic experiences both virtually and abroad.
  • Supporting the continued development of a global, diverse, and inclusive academic environment through engagement with experiential learning opportunities and intercultural awareness and competence across all campus communities.
  • Supporting policy, structural, and operational changes to increase and retain the presence of diversity across all campus communities.


11 Faculty - One faculty member from each of the following Colleges: Center for International Studies, Arts and Sciences, Business, Scripps, Patton, Russ, Fine Arts, Health Sciences and Professions, Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, Regional Higher Education, and the Voinovich School
3 Students - Student membership will include one representative from Student Senate, Graduate Student Senate, and the International Student Union. These students are identified via the Office of Global Affairs and not their respective senates.
6 Administrators - Administrative representatives are not subject to term limits and continuation of service is subject to negotiation between the representative, administrative office, and UIC Chair. Administrative membership will include one representative from the Office of Global Affairs, International Student and Scholar Services, Office of Global Opportunities, Ohio Program of Intensive English, International Admissions – Undergraduate, and International Admissions – Graduate
4 Ex-Officio - The Associate Provost for Global Affairs, the Vice Provost of Faculty Development (or EVPP designee), and a representative from the Vice President for Research and Creativity will serve as ex-officio members. The Chair of the Committee will also serve as an ex-officio non-voting member.

Committee Roster


Patrick Barr-Melej
Interim Executive Director of the Center for International Studies (CIS)

Benjamin Bates
Professor, Health Communication

Ilana Chertok

Haley Duschinski
Director of the Center for International Studies and Professor of Anthropology

Todd Fredricks

Natalie Kruse-Daniels
Environmental Studies

David LaPalombara

Chang Liu
Professor Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Vic Matta
Associate Professor of Analytics & Information Systems

Greg Obi
Associate Professor of Management

Bilal Urkmez
Assistant Professor Counseling and Higher Education

Administrators, Voting

Diane Cahill

Rebecca Challenger

Gerry Krzic
Director of OPIE

Catherine Marshall
Global Opportunities

Andy Ray
Director, International Student Services

Dr. Mateo Remsburg
Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management and Executive Director of Undergraduate Admissions

Vicki Seefeldt West
International Recruitment

Administrators, Non-Voting

Gillian Ice
Professor and Director of Global Health

Roxanne Male-Brune

Nagesh Rao
Social Medicine

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.