Ohio University

Search within:
College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

University International Council

Charge and Membership

The University International Council (UIC) serves the Executive Vice President and Provost in an advisory capacity. Its broad charge is to initiate, foster, coordinate, evaluate and effectively communicate the global activities of the University, and to develop and propose new international education, research and service policies, and other related activities. The UIC will propose and monitor guidelines and priorities for the University's global activities in the following areas: global mobility of knowledge and experience; global diversity of campus life; and global relations and profile.

Appointments will be made by the President from nominations presented by the Committee on Committees. The faculty appointments are based on recommendations from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee based on nominations from the dean of each college. Each dean will nominate at least two faculty for each position.

Composition

Faculty
11 Voting (1 Center for International Studies; 1 College of Arts and Sciences; 1 College of Business; 1 College of Fine Arts; 1 College of Health Sciences and Professions; 1 Patton College of Education; 1 Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine; 1 Regional Higher Education; 1 Russ College of Engineering; 1 Scripps College of Communication; and 1 Voinovich School
Students
3 Voting (Currently vacant: 1 Graduate; 1 Undergraduate; 1 President of International Student Union)
Administrative
14 Voting, 3 Non-Voting (*** see below for composition)
Total
28 voting and 3 non-voting

Committee Roster

Faculty

Patrick Barr-Melej
barr-mel@ohio.edu
Interim Executive Director of the Center for International Studies (CIS)

Benjamin Bates
batesb@ohio.edu
Faculty Senate Vice Chair
Communication Studies

Jennifer Chabot
chabot@ohio.edu
Social Health

Geoffrey Dabelko
dabelkog@ohio.edu
Professor; Associate Dean,Voinovich School

Haley Duschinski
duschins@ohio.edu
Associate Professor, Anthropology

Andre Gribou
gribou@ohio.edu
Fine Arts

Chang Liu
liuc@ohio.edu
Professor Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Vic Matta
matta@ohio.edu
Associate Professor of Analytics & Information Systems

Greg Obi
obi@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Business Management Technology

Nagesh Rao
rao@ohio.edu
Social Medicine

Sergio Robles
robeless@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor of Instruction in Marketing

Jane Skon
skon@ohio.edu
Teacher Education

Administrators, Voting

David Bell
belld@ohio.edu
Associate Professor & Chair, Linguistics

Diane Cahill
cahild@ohio.edu
Global Affairs

Robert Callahan
callahar@ohio.edu
Senior Director of Recruitment and Partnerships, Admissions

Rebecca Challenger
challenge@ohio.edu
OPIE

Dr. Winsome Chunnu-Brayda
chunnu@ohio.edu
Strategic Director for Diversity and Inclusion and Multicultural Programs and Initiatives

Araba Dawson-Andoh
dawson-a@ohio.edu
Subject Librarian, African Studies and Social Sciences

Teri Gartland
terih@ohio.edu
Assistant Vice President, Central Programs

Jneanne Hacker
hackerjn@ohio.edu
Executive Director, Housing and Residence Life

Daniel King
kingd3@ohio.edu
Marketing Communications Manager, College of Fine Arts

Gerry Krzic
krzic@ohio.edu
OPIE

Christopher S. Lewis
christopherlewis@ohio.edu
Director, Office of Nationally Competitive Awards

Dr. Roxanne Malé-Brune
male-bru@ohio.edu
Director, Grant Development and Projects

Catherine Marshall
marshallc@ohio.edu
Global Opportunities

Dr. Andy Ray
raya@ohio.edu
Director, International Student Services

Emilia Alonso-Sameño
markse@ohio.edu
Professor, Spanish

Vicki Seefeldt West
westv@ohio.edu
International Recruitment

Becky Simons
simonsr@ohio.edu
Instructional Designer

Administrators, Non-Voting

Purba Das
dasp@ohio.edu
Professor, Communication Studies

Katherine Hartman
hartmank@ohio.edu
Marketing

Ji-Yeung Jang
jang@ohio.edu
Interim Executive Director for Global Affairs

Undergraduate Students

Deependra Budhathoki
db497117@ohio.edu

Elaina Tartal
et282217@ohio.edu

Graduate Student

Oumarou Abdodaye
oa329115@ohio.edu

Administrative Support

Marian Carr
carrm@ohio.edu

Kate McClure
katebmcclure@ohio.edu
 

University International Council By-Laws_2016 [Word]

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.