Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Radiation Safety Committee

Charge and Membership

The purpose of the Radiation Safety Committee is to establish and to administer regulations concerning standards and procedures designed to minimize the hazards associated with the use of materials and equipment that emit radiation. Persons with expertise in applications of radioactive materials and radiation devices are preferred for membership due to the technical nature of the Committee's work.

The Radiation Safety Committee is required to meet at least once per quarter.

This Committee reports through the Director of Environmental Health and Safety to the Vice President for Administration.

Composition

Faculty
7 Voting (Specifics Detailed Below)
Students
1 Non-Voting (Ex-Officio: Specifics Detailed Below)
Administrative
2 Voting, 5 Non-Voting, Ex-Officio (Specifics Detailed Below)

Total
15 (6 Non-Voting)

Committee Roster

Faculty

Mark Berryman
berryman@ohio.edu
Biology
2021

Bob Colvin
colvin@ohio.edu
Professor & Chair
Biological Sciences
Radiation Safety Committee 2020

Ahmed Faik
faik@ohio.edu
Environmental Biology
2020

Michael Held
held@ohio.edu
Chemistry
2021

David Ingram
ingram@ohio.edu
Physics
2020

Thomas Massey
massey@ohio.edu
Chemistry
2020

Shigeru (Nick) Okada PhD
okada@ohio.edu
Associate Investigator, Edison Biotechnology Institute
Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Radiation Safety Committee 2021

Administrators

Ricardo Gaytan
gaytan@ohio.edu
Radiation Safety Technician

Keith Lefler
lefler@ohio.edu
VP for Finance and Administration

Steve Mack
macks@ohio.edu
Interim Executive Director of Facilities Management

Michael Pidcock
pidcoc2@ohio.edu
Procurement Services

David Schleter
schleted@ohio.edu
Lab Safety Coordinator,
Alternate Radiation Safety Officer

Alan Watts
wattsa@ohio.edu
Laboratory & Radiation Safety Officer

Ex-Officio, Non-Voting

Steven Grimes
grimes@ohio.edu
Physics

Composition Requirements

  1. Chairman of Radiation Safety Committee - Faculty
  2. The Radiation Safety Officer - Administrator
  3. Alternate Radiation Safety Officer - Administrator
  4. Biological Sciences - Individual User of Radioactive Material(s) - Faculty
  5. Biomedical Sciences - Individual User of Radioactive Material(s) - Faculty
  6. Chemistry - Individual User of Radioactive Material(s) - Faculty
  7. Environmental and Plant Biology - Individual User of Radioactive Material(s) - Faculty
  8. Edison Biotechnology Institute - Individual User of Radioactive Material(s) - Faculty
  9. Edwards Accelerator Lab - Individual User of Radioactive Material(s) - Faculty
  10. Non-Voting Ex-Officio: Graduate Student - From a science department
  11. Non-Voting Ex-Officio: Administrator from Purchasing Department - Familiar with radioactive purchasing and delivering
  12. Non-Voting Ex-Officio: Administrator from Physical Plant - Familiar with the facilities and custodial maintenance of buildings in which radioactive material is used
  13. Non-Voting Ex-Officio: Administrator from Innovation Center - Business uses of radioactive material
  14. Non-Voting Ex-Officio: Administrator, Vice President for Finance and Administration or Designee
  15. Non-Voting Ex-Officio: Administrator

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.