Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

Charge and Membership

The Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity encourages research, scholarship, and creative activity through improved communication within and outside the university. The Council also assists in the evaluation of the distribution of research funds, carries out policy reviews, and serves an advocacy role in all issues that affect research within the university. In addition, the Council provides the President, Provost and Vice President for Research an annual assessment of research at Ohio University.

The Council reports to the Vice President for Research who advises the President and Executive Vice President and Provost (EVPP) on a regular basis. The President and EVPP meet with the Council at least once per year. More information can be found at Funding Resources.

Committee Roster


Alyssa Bernstein
Associate Professor

Sandy Chen
Human and Consumer Sciences

John Cotton
Mechanical Engineering

Zijian Diao
Associate Professor of Mathematics

Mike Geringer

Andre Gribou
Fine Arts

Dr. Lisa Stein-Haven
Professor of English

Parul Jain
Associate Professor, Journalism

Jason Jolley

Krisanna Machtmes

Vladimir Marchenkov
Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts

Faiz Rahman
Associate Professor

Julie Roche

Thomas Rosol
Biomedical Sciences

Janet Simon

Aaron Wilson
Assistant Professor, Accounting

Valerie Young
Chemical Engineering


Janet Hulm
Alden Library

The College of Business, Scripps College of Communication, Patton College of Education, College of Fine Arts, College of Health Sciences and Professions, and College of Osteopathic Medicine each have one representative on the Council while the College of Arts and Sciences and the Russ College of Engineering and Technology have three representatives each on the Council. The three representatives from Arts and Sciences come from the humanities; natural and physical sciences and mathematics; and the social sciences. The Regional Campuses as a group and University Libraries each have one representative on the Council. The Vice President for Research serves as an ex officio voting member of the Council.

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.