Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

Charge and Membership

The Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity encourages research, scholarship, and creative activity through improved communication within and outside the university. The Council also assists in the evaluation of the distribution of research funds, carries out policy reviews, and serves an advocacy role in all issues that affect research within the university. In addition, the Council provides the President, Provost and Vice President for Research an annual assessment of research at Ohio University.

The Council reports to the Vice President for Research who advises the President and Executive Vice President and Provost (EVPP) on a regular basis. The President and EVPP meet with the Council at least once per year. More information can be found at Funding Resources.

Composition

Faculty
14 Voting (Specific College Representations Detailed Below)
Administrative
2 (1 Voting, At-Large; 1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio: VP for Research and Creative Activity or Designee)

Total
16 Total (1 Non-Voting)

Committee Roster

Faculty

Rachinda Aissaoui
aissaoui@ohio.edu
Business
2022

David Bayless
bayless@ohio.edu
Sustainable Infrastructure Hub Coordinator
Mechanical Engineering
Science Fair Committee

Stephen Bergmeier PhD
bergmeis@ohio.edu
Fellow, Edison Biotechnology Institute
Director, Medicinal Chemistry Center
Professor and Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity (2021)
Intercollegiate Athletics Committee (2022)

John Cotton
cotton@ohio.edu
Mechanical Engineering

Melissa Figueroa
figuerom@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Spanish

Thomas Hayes
hayest1@ohio.edu
Fine Arts
2020

Marsha Lewis
lewism5@ohio.edu
Voinovich
2022

Krisanna Machtmes
machtmess@ohio.edu
Education
2020

Scott Minar
minar@ohio.edu
Professor
Arts & Sciences - Lancaster
2020

Jatin Srivastava
srivastj@ohio.edu
Journalism
2021

Chris Thompson
thompso@ohio.edu
Modern Languages
Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity (2022)

Dhiraj Vattem PhD
vattem@ohio.edu
Principal Investigator, Edison Biotechnology Institute
Director, School of Applied Health Sciences and Wellness
Professor, Nutrition
Applied Health Sciences and Wellness, College of Health Sciences and Professions
2021

Ken Walsh
walshk@ohio.edu
Civil Engineering
2021

Myra Waterbury
waterbur@ohio.edu
Professor, Political Science

Larry Witmer
witmerl@ohio.edu
HCOM
2022

Administrators

Jan Maxwell
maxwelj2@ohio.edu
University Libraries

Joseph Shields, Ph.D.
shieldj1@ohio.edu
Vice President for Research and Creative Activity; Dean, Graduate College

The College of Business, Scripps College of Communication, Patton College of Education, College of Fine Arts, College of Health Sciences and Professions, and College of Osteopathic Medicine each have one representative on the Council while the College of Arts and Sciences and the Russ College of Engineering and Technology have three representatives each on the Council. The three representatives from Arts and Sciences come from the humanities; natural and physical sciences and mathematics; and the social sciences. The Regional Campuses as a group and University Libraries each have one representative on the Council. The Vice President for Research serves as an ex officio voting member of the Council.

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.