Graduate Council

Charge and Membership

The Graduate Council reviews, coordinates, and serves as an advocate for graduate education at Ohio University. The council has both advisory and policy-recommending responsibilities for graduate education. It initiates, reviews, and recommends University-wide policy and new directions for graduate education.

The Graduate Council recommends to the University Curriculum Council the elimination of graduate programs and degrees at Ohio University. (See Section II.D.4.c for procedures for the elimination of graduate programs.) Other recommendations by the Council go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

Four members (three faculty and one administrator) of the Curriculum Committee of the Graduate Council are cross-appointed to serve as voting members of the University Curriculum Council (UCC) and UCC’s Program Committee. The primary charge of these members will be to represent the concerns of the Graduate Council although they will be voting members of both Councils. Through the cross-appointed members of the Graduate Council and UCC, Graduate Council advises UCC on the approval and implementation of graduate programs.

This committee reports to the Provost and President.

Composition

Faculty
14 Faculty - Fourteen members with faculty status (with a minimum of five from doctoral programs and five from master's-degree-only programs)
Students
4 Graduate Students - Four graduate students, including the President of the Graduate Student Senate (with a minimum of one student from a doctoral program and one from a master's-only program)
Administrative
11 Administrators - The deans or designees of the following Colleges: Arts and Sciences, Business, Scripps, Patton, Russ, Fine Arts, Health Sciences and Professions, Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, Voinovich School, and University Libraries; and the directors or designees of the Center for International Studies
1 Ex-officio - The dean (or designee) of the Graduate College will serve as a nonvoting member.

Committee Roster

Administrators

Patrick Barr
barr-mel@ohio.edu

Danielle Dani
dani@ohio.edu

Aimee Edmondson
edmondso@ohio.edu
Graduate Director, Scripps
Faculty Athletic Representative

Gabriel Giordano
giordano@ohio.edu

Janet Hulm
hulm@ohio.edu
Alden Library

Vladimir Marchenkov
marchenk@ohio.edu
Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts

Brian McCarthy
mccarthy@ohio.edu
Arts & Sciences

Patrick O'Connor
oconnorp@ohio.edu

Tomy Raimondi
raimondi@ohio.edu

Anirudh Ruhil
ruhil@ohio.edu

Eric Steinberg
steinber@ohio.edu

Ex-Officio

Debra M. Benton
bentond@ohio.edu
University Registrar

David Koonce
koonce@ohio.edu
Vice President for Research and Creative Activity and Dean of the Graduate College

Greg Newton
newtong@ohio.edu
Professor, Media Arts & Studies

Andy Ray
raya@ohio.edu
Director, International Student Services

Katherine Tadlock
tadlockk@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean
Graduate College

Faculty

Jonathan Agensky
agensky@ohio.edu

Melissa Bowlby
bowlby@ohio.edu
Program Director/Assistant Clinical Professor, Dublin

David Brown
brownd16@ohio.edu
Management

Leanne Christman-Khawam
chrismal@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Social Medicine

Ann Bainbridge Frymier, Ed.D.
frymier@ohio.edu
Director, Professor

Allyson Hallman-Thrasher
hallman@ohio.edu
Teacher Education

Mike Hess
hessm@ohio.edu
Educational Studies

Jennie Klein
kleinj1@ohio.edu
Professor, Art History

Neil Littell
littellw@ohio.edu

Kimberlee Orben
orben@ohio.edu
Associate Clinical Professor

Shawn Ostermann
osterman@ohio.edu
Russ College

Beth Quitslund
quitslun@ohio.edu
English

Dorothy Sack
sack@ohio.edu

Jeremy Webster
webstej1@ohio.edu

Graduate Students

Courtney Silver-Peavey
cs600418@ohio.edu

Amrit Thapa
at737719@ohio.edu
Graduate Student Senate President

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.