Ohio University

Search within:
College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Graduate Council

Charge and Membership

The Graduate Council reviews, coordinates, and serves as an advocate for graduate education at Ohio University. The Council has both advisory and policy-recommending responsibilities for graduate education. They initiate, review, and recommend University-wide policy for graduate education.

The Graduate Council recommends to the University Curriculum Council the initiation, implementation, and elimination of graduate programs and degrees at Ohio University. Other recommendations by the Council go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The composition of the Graduate Council represents both those departments granting Ph.D. degrees and those departments offering only Master's degrees.

Composition

Faculty
14 Voting; Minimum of 5 from Doctoral Programs and 5 from Master's-Only Programs
Students
4 Voting Graduate Students; 3 Voting including the President of Graduate Student Senate; 2 At Large, with a minimum of 1 student from a doctoral program and one from a master's-only program, and 1 Alternate
Administrative
11 Voting and 1 Non-Voting; Deans or Designees of the following colleges: Arts and Sciences, Business, Scripps, Patton, Russ, Fine Arts, Health Services and Professions, University Libraries, Heritage Osteopathic (HOM); and the directors and designees of the Center for International Studies and the Voinovich School; Non-voting: Graduate College Dean
Total
30; 1 Non-Voting

Committee Roster

Faculty

Melissa Bowlby
bowlby@ohio.edu
Program Director/Assistant Clinical Professor, Dublin

Gordon Brooks
brooksg@ohio.edu
Education Studies, Graduate Program

David Brown
brownd16@ohio.edu
Management

Charlotte Elster
elster@ohio.edu
Physics/Astronomy

Ann Bainbridge Frymier, Ed.D.
frymier@ohio.edu
Director, Professor

Allyson Hallman-Thrasher
hallman@ohio.edu
Teacher Education

Peter Harrington
harringp@ohio.edu
Chemistry/Biochemistry
2020

Lesli Johnson
johnsol2@ohio.edu
Voinovich School

Neil Littell
littellw@ohio.edu

Kimberlee Orben
orben@ohio.edu
Associate Clinical Professor

Assan Sarr
sarr@ohio.edu
Associate Professor

Carol Schaumleffel
schaumle@ohio.edu
Nursing

Morgan Vis-Chiasson
vis-chia@ohio.edu
Professor, Environmental and Plant Biology

Kelley Walton
waltonk@ohio.edu
Sports Administration

Administrators

Geoffrey Dabelko
dabelkog@ohio.edu
Professor; Associate Dean,Voinovich School

Howard Dewald
dewald@ohio.edu
Temporary Associate Dean for Faculty, Graduate Studies and Research & Professor of Chemistry

Andrew Fodor
fodora@ohio.edu
Finance

Andrea Frohne
frohne@ohio.edu
Director, School of Interdisciplinary Arts
Associate Professor, African Art History

Arthur Hughes
hughesa@ohio.edu
Director of Latin American Studies and Associate Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Janet Hulm
hulm@ohio.edu
Alden Library

David Koonce
koonce@ohio.edu
Associate Vice President for Research and Associate Dean of the Graduate College

Sally Marinellie
marinels@ohio.edu
Health Sciences and Professions

Greg Newton
newtong@ohio.edu

David Nguyen
nguyend4@ohio.edu
Higher Education

Jessica Wingett
wingettj@ohio.edu
Director, Research Administration

Ex-Officio

Dr. Becky Bushey-Miller
millerb3@ohio.edu
Director, Communications and
Professional Development

Beth Quitslund
quitslun@ohio.edu
English

Joseph Shields, Ph.D.
shieldj1@ohio.edu
Vice President for Research and Creative Activity; Dean, Graduate College

Dr. Katherine Tadlock
tadlockk@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean
Graduate College

Graduate Students

Dakota Fox
df250215@ohio.edu

Daniela Grijalva
dg707713@ohio.edu

Joseph Ziorklui
jz212219@ohio.edu
Graduate Student Senate President

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.