Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Graduate Council

Charge and Membership

The Graduate Council reviews, coordinates, and serves as an advocate for graduate education at Ohio University. The Council has both advisory and policy-recommending responsibilities for graduate education. They initiate, review, and recommend University-wide policy for graduate education.

The Graduate Council recommends to the University Curriculum Council the initiation, implementation, and elimination of graduate programs and degrees at Ohio University. Other recommendations by the Council go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The composition of the Graduate Council represents both those departments granting Ph.D. degrees and those departments offering only Master's degrees.

Composition

Faculty
14 Voting (Minimum of 5 from Doctoral Programs and 5 from Master's-Only Programs)
Students
3 Voting Graduate Students (1 President of Graduate Student Senate; 2 At Large; 1 Alternate)
Administrative
8 Voting (Deans/Dean Equivalent or Designees of: Arts and Sciences, Business, Scripps, Patton, Russ, Fine Arts, Health Services and Professions, University Libraries, Heritage Osteopathic COM) and 1 Non-Voting (Associate Provost for Graduate Studies)

Total
26 (1 Non-Voting)

Committee Roster

Faculty

Gordon Brooks
brooksg@ohio.edu
Education Studies, Graduate Program

Charlotte Elster
elster@ohio.edu
Physics/Astronomy

Andrew Fodor
fodora@ohio.edu
Finance

Ann Bainbridge Frymier, Ed.D.
frymier@ohio.edu
Director, Professor

Lesli Johnson
johnsol2@ohio.edu
Voinovich School

Paul Jones
jonesp2@ohio.edu
English

Jospeh Lee
leej3@ohio.edu
Linguistics

Munir Nazzal
nazzal@ohio.edu
Civil Engineering

Erik Ramsey
ramseye@ohio.edu
Theater

Assan Sarr
sarr@ohio.edu
Associate Professor

Carol Schaumleffel
schaumle@ohio.edu
Nursing

Kelley Walton
waltonk@ohio.edu
Sports Administration

Lijing Yang
yangl@ohio.edu
Counseling and Higher Education

Administrators

Sonsolse De Lacalle
delacall@ohio.edu
HCOM

Steve Howard
howard@ohio.edu
Professor, Media Arts and Studies

Janet Hulm
hulm@ohio.edu
Alden Library

Jody Lamb
lambj@ohio.edu
Fine Arts

Brian McCarthy
mccarthy@ohio.edu
Arts & Sciences

Shawn Ostermann
osterman@ohio.edu
Russ College

Ann Paulins
paulins@ohio.edu
Education

Mark Weinberg
weinberm@ohio.edu
Founding Dean, Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs
Voinovich School

Ex-Officio

Dr. David Koonce
koonce@ohio.edu
Associate Dean
Graduate College

Dr. Katherine Tadlock
tadlockk@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean
Graduate College

Graduate Students

Jacob Kemp
jk399808@ohio.edu

Eric Nichols
en027819@ohio.edu

Nicole Siliko
ns702118@ohio.edu

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.