Ohio University

Search within:
College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Ohio University Research Council

Charge and Membership

The Ohio University Research Council provides support for faculty and contract staff research, scholarship and creative works in any field of study. Projects that are part of an advanced degree program of the applicant, that are directed toward development of curriculum or acquisition of instructional equipment, or that seek to further an administrative function of a department, college, or other university administrative unit are ineligible for support. Two review cycles are held during the academic year; the first is in the fall semester, with announcement of awards before the end of that semester, so that grant-supported activities can be conducted between fall and spring semesters. The second is in the spring semester with announcement of awards in the spring semester. Awards at this cycle are primarily intended to facilitate grant activities during the summer. At other times throughout the year, the chair of the committee may make small ($500 or less) discretionary awards to persons who demonstrate a particular need for such timely support.

The Committee reports its actions to the Vice President for Research. Guidelines for awarding can be found at Funding Resources.

Composition

Faculty
12 Voting
Students
2 Voting Graduate Students
Administrative
3 Voting (1 At Large; 1 VP for Research and Creative Activity; 1 Asst VP for Research and Creative Activity)
Total
17

Committee Roster

Faculty

David Brown
brownd16@ohio.edu
Management

Benjamin Bythell
bythell@ohio.edu
Chemistry

Ronan Carroll
carrolr3@ohio.edu
Biological Sciences

Matthew Cornish
cornish@ohio.edu
Theater

Karen Coschigano
coschigk@ohio.edu
Biomedical Sciences

Mike Geringer
geringer@ohio.edu
Management

Robert Ingram
ingramr@ohio.edu
History

Glenn Matlack
matlack@ohio.edu
Environmental and Plant Biology

Thomas Rosol
rosolt@ohio.edu
Biomedical Sciences

Nukhet Sandal
sandal@ohio.edu
War and Peace Studies, Political Science

Aaron Wilson
wilsona5@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Accounting

Administrators

Karen Collins
collink3@ohio.edu
Assistant Director of Research Administration

Graduate Students

Courtney Silver-Peavey
cs600418@ohio.edu

Nick Witticar
nw575612@ohio.edu

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.