Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Ohio University Research Council

Charge and Membership

The Ohio University Research Council provides support for faculty and contract staff research, scholarship and creative works in any field of study. Projects that are part of an advanced degree program of the applicant, that are directed toward development of curriculum or acquisition of instructional equipment, or that seek to further an administrative function of a department, college, or other university administrative unit are ineligible for support. Two review cycles are held during the academic year; the first is in the fall quarter with announcement of awards before the end of that quarter so that grant-supported activities can be conducted during the fall/winter quarter intersession. The second is late in the winter quarter with announcement of awards late in the winter quarter or early in the spring quarter. Awards at this cycle are primarily intended to facilitate grant activities during the summer. At other times throughout the year, the Chair of the Committee may make small ($500 or less) discretionary awards to persons who demonstrate particular need for such timely support.

The Committee reports its actions to the Vice President for Research. Guidelines for awarding can be found at Funding Resources.

Composition

Faculty
12 Voting
Students
2 Voting Graduate Students
Administrative
3 Voting (1 At Large; 1 VP for Research and Creative Activity; 1 Asst VP for Research and Creative Activity)

Total
17

Committee Roster

Faculty

Ronan Carroll
carrolr3@ohio.edu
Biological Sciences
2022

Dennis Delaney
delaney@ohio.edu
Theater
2020

Sarah Garlington
garlingt@ohio.edu
Social and Public Health

Robert Ingram
ingramr@ohio.edu
History

Kelly McCall
mccallk@ohio.edu
Specialty Medicine
2020

John McCarthy
mccarthj@ohio.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders
2021

David Nguyen
nguyend4@ohio.edu
Higher Education
2021

Haesun Park-Poaps
poaps@ohio.edu
Retail Merchandising
2020

Julie Roche
rochej@ohio.edu
Physics
2021

Emilia Alonso-Sameño
markse@ohio.edu
Professor, Spanish

Nukhet Sandal
sandal@ohio.edu
Political Science
Director, War and Peace Studies

Administrators

Scott Carpenter (2021)
carpentd@ohio.edu
Director of Laboratory Animal Resources
Administrator At-Large, Ohio University Research Council

Dr. David Koonce
koonce@ohio.edu
Associate Dean
Graduate College

Graduate Students

Ghanem Elhersh
ge260518@ohio.edu

Alexis Moore
am272614@ohio.edu

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.