Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

University Curriculum Council

Charge and Membership

The University Curriculum Council is the final organization in a system of committees composed of departmental curriculum committees, college curriculum committees, and the University Curriculum Council itself. The function of the University Curriculum Council is to make recommendations concerning:

  • addition and deletion of academic programs;
  • after formal review, the quality and priority of existing academic programs;
  • addition, deletion, and changes in courses; and
  • academic requirements.

The Curriculum Council is the final recommending voice in curricular matters. Its recommendations go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The University Curriculum Council is organized into four standing committees: Program, Review, Individual Course, and General Education. The Program Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and first follow-up of new programs. The Review Committee is concerned with cyclic review and evaluation of existing programs. The Individual Course Committee is concerned with coordination at the university level of addition, deletion, and changes in all course offerings. The General Education Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and changes in all general education course offerings and with review and revision of general education structure and policies. If they cannot be assigned to a standing committee, issues concerning educational and program requirements will be reviewed by a special committee appointed by the chairperson. When dealing with graduate programs, the Curriculum Council and its committees work with the Graduate Council.

Composition

Faculty
30 Voting (1 Vice Chair of Faculty Senate, Serves as UCC Chair; 16 At Large; 12 EPSA Members; 1 Chair of Graduate Council)
Students
7 Voting (2 Graduate Students, 2 Alternate Graduate Students; 5 Undergraduate Students, 5 Alternate Undergraduate Students)
Administrative
14 Voting (10 College Deans/Dean Equivalent; 1 Assoc. Provost for International Studies; 1 Assoc. Provost for Graduate Studies; 1 Regional Campus Dean, chosen by Reg. Campus Deans; 1 Professional Staff of Alden Library) 1 Non-Voting, Ex-Officio: EVPP Rep.
Total
52 (1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio)

Committee Roster

Faculty

Benjamin Bates
batesb@ohio.edu
Professor, Health Communication

Mohammed Khurrum Bhutta
bhutta@ohio.edu
Operational Management

Sherleena Buchman
buchmans@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Nursing

Shea Bruden
burdens@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Accounting

Jim Dyer
dyer@ohio.edu
Geography

Kristine Ensign
ensign@ohio.edu
Applied Health Sciences and Wellness

Timothy Goheen
goheen@ohio.edu
Visual Communication

Katherine Hartman
hartmank@ohio.edu
Marketing

Sara Hartman
hartmans@ohio.edu
Education

Bayyinah Jeffries
jeffrieb@ohio.edu
African American Studies
Chair, Honorary Degree Committee
2021

Dr. Pramod Kanwar
kanwar@ohio.edu
Professor of Mathematics

Zaki Kuruppalil
kuruppal@ohio.edu
Engineering

Yang Li
liy1@ohio.edu
Neuroscience

Ruth Palmer
palmerr@ohio.edu
Classics & World Religions

Andrew Pueschel
pueschel@ohio.edu
Management

Beth Quitslund
quitslun@ohio.edu
English

Nukhet Sandal
sandal@ohio.edu
Political Science
Director, War and Peace Studies

Jennifer Smith
smithj33@ohio.edu
Fine Arts

Barbel Such
such@ohio.edu
Modern Languages

Lijing Yang
yangl@ohio.edu
Counseling and Higher Education

Administrators

Gordon Brooks
brooksg@ohio.edu
Education Studies, Graduate Program

Kelly Broughton
broughtk@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean, University Libraries

Carey Busch
buschc@ohio.edu
Accessibility

Catherine Cutcher
cutcher@ohio.edu
Assistant Director for Global Studies Programs

Chris Hayes
hayesc1@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Fine Arts

Sara Helfrich
helfrich@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean, Education

David Koonce
koonce@ohio.edu
Associate Vice President for Research and Associate Dean of the Graduate College

Jody Lamb
lambj@ohio.edu
Fine Arts

April Loudner-Maffin
loudnera@ohio.edu
Heritage College of Medicine Curriculum Coordinator

Sally Marinellie
marinels@ohio.edu
Health Sciences and Professions

Deborah McAvoy
mcavoy@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Civil Engineering

Beth Novak
novakb@ohio.edu
Associate Dean
Director of Studies, HTC Media Arts and Studies

Connie Patterson
patterc1@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Education

Nicole Pennington
penningj@ohio.edu
Executive Dean for Regional Higher Education and Dean of the Southern Campus

Sarah Poggione
poggione@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Arts and Sciences

Loralyn Taylor
taylorl4@ohio.edu
Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness & Analytics

Edna Wangui
wangui@ohio.edu
Director of Global Studies Program
Associate Professor, Geography

Graduate Students

Salome Aluso
sa858515@ohio.edu

Devin Sudman
ds099711@ohio.edu

Undergraduate Students

Ian Carter
ic195615@ohio.edu
President, Student Senate

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.