Ohio University

Search within:
College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

University Curriculum Council

Charge and Membership

The University Curriculum Council is the final organization in a system of committees composed of departmental curriculum committees, college curriculum committees, and the University Curriculum Council itself. The function of the University Curriculum Council is to make recommendations concerning:

  • addition and deletion of academic programs;
  • after formal review, the quality and priority of existing academic programs;
  • addition, deletion, and changes in courses; and
  • academic requirements.

The Curriculum Council is the final recommending voice in curricular matters. Its recommendations go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The University Curriculum Council is organized into four standing committees: Program, Review, Individual Course, and General Education. The Program Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and first follow-up of new programs. The Review Committee is concerned with cyclic review and evaluation of existing programs. The Individual Course Committee is concerned with coordination at the university level of addition, deletion, and changes in all course offerings. The General Education Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and changes in all general education course offerings and with review and revision of general education structure and policies. If they cannot be assigned to a standing committee, issues concerning educational and program requirements will be reviewed by a special committee appointed by the chairperson. When dealing with graduate programs, the Curriculum Council and its committees work with the Graduate Council.

Composition

Faculty
30 Voting (1 Vice Chair of Faculty Senate, Serves as UCC Chair; 16 At Large; 12 EPSA Members; 1 Chair of Graduate Council)
Students
7 Voting (2 Graduate Students, 2 Alternate Graduate Students; 5 Undergraduate Students, 5 Alternate Undergraduate Students)
Administrative
14 Voting (10 College Deans/Dean Equivalent; 1 Assoc. Provost for International Studies; 1 Assoc. Provost for Graduate Studies; 1 Regional Campus Dean, chosen by Reg. Campus Deans; 1 Professional Staff of Alden Library) 1 Non-Voting, Ex-Officio: EVPP Rep.
Total
52 (1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio)

Committee Roster

Faculty

Benjamin Bates
batesb@ohio.edu
Professor, Health Communication

Mohammed Khurrum Bhutta
bhutta@ohio.edu
Operational Management

David Brown
brownd16@ohio.edu
Management

Sherleena Buchman
buchmans@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Nursing

Shea Bruden
burdens@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Accounting

Gang Chen
cheng3@ohio.edu
Physics and Astronomy

Jim Dyer
dyer@ohio.edu
Geography

Todd Eisworth
eiisworth@ohio.edu
Associate Professor, Math

Ellen Gordon
gordone@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Analytics & Information Systems Department

Allyson Hallman-Thrasher
hallman@ohio.edu
Teacher Education

Daniel Harper
harperd1@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture

Sara Hartman
hartmans@ohio.edu
Education

Molly Johnson
johnsom4@ohio.edu
Associate Professor Nursing / Nursing Assessment and Evaluation Coordinator

Dr. Pramod Kanwar
kanwar@ohio.edu
Professor of Mathematics

Alan Kenny
kenny@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor & Head of Musical Theater

Jennie Klein
kleinj1@ohio.edu
Professor, Art History

Robert Klein
kleinr@ohio.edu
Professor Mathematics

Zaki Kuruppalil
kuruppal@ohio.edu
Engineering

Yang Li
liy1@ohio.edu
Neuroscience

Jim McKean
mckean@ohio.edu
Assistant Professor, Law Enforcement

Sean Parsons
parsons1@ohio.edu
Associate Professor

Talinn Phillips
tiller@ohio.edu
Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Writing & Research Center

Tracy Pritchard
pritchar@ohio.edu
Professor of Social Work Instruction

Kate Raney
raneyk@ohio.edu
Media Arts

Nukhet Sandal
sandal@ohio.edu
War and Peace Studies, Political Science

Jennifer Smith
smithj33@ohio.edu
Fine Arts

Barbel Such
such@ohio.edu
Modern Languages

Sarah Webb
webbs2@ohio.edu
Social Work

Lijing Yang
yangl@ohio.edu
Counseling and Higher Education

Yuquiu You
youy@ohio.edu
Engineering

Administrators

Gordon Brooks
brooksg@ohio.edu
Education Studies, Graduate Program

Kelly Broughton
broughtk@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean, University Libraries

Carey Busch
buschc@ohio.edu
Accessibility

Cindy Cogswell
cogswell@ohio.edu
Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment

Catherine Cutcher
cutcher@ohio.edu
Assistant Director for Global Studies Programs

Chris Hayes
hayesc1@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Fine Arts

Sara Helfrich
helfrich@ohio.edu
Assistant Dean, Education

Mari Hopper
mkhopper@ohio.edu
Associate Dean for Preclinical Education

David Juedes
juedes@ohio.edu
Associate Dean for Academics, Professor Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Director of Avionics

Jody Lamb
lambj@ohio.edu
Fine Arts

April Loudner-Maffin
loudnera@ohio.edu
Heritage College of Medicine Curriculum Coordinator

Sally Marinellie
marinels@ohio.edu
Health Sciences and Professions

Deborah McAvoy
mcavoy@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Civil Engineering

Beth Novak
novakb@ohio.edu
Associate Dean
Director of Studies, HTC Media Arts and Studies

Connie Patterson
patterc1@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Education

Nicole Pennington
penningj@ohio.edu
Executive Dean for Regional Higher Education and Dean of the Southern Campus

Sarah Poggione
poggione@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Arts and Sciences

Beth Quitslund
quitslun@ohio.edu
English

Loralyn Taylor
taylorl4@ohio.edu
Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness & Analytics

Edna Wangui
wangui@ohio.edu
Director of Global Studies Program
Associate Professor, Geography

Graduate Students

William Bimpong
wb076516@ohio.edu

Shauna Torrington
st836513@ohio.edu
Graduate Assistant - International Student Orientation

Undergraduate Students

Rhyan Goodman
rg592819@ohio.edu

"Eliza" Becky Ivan
bi853216@ohio.edu
Student Senate President

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.