University Curriculum Council

Charge and Membership

The University Curriculum Council, a statutory body established by the Faculty Senate in order to discharge the Faculty Senate's responsibilities with respect to curricular matters, is the final organization in a system of committees composed of departmental curriculum committees, college curriculum committees, and the University Curriculum Council itself. The function of the University Curriculum Council is to make recommendations in curricular matters that include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following:

  1. Addition, relocation, and deletion of academic programs and degrees;
  2. the schedule of program review and the review process itself;
  3. after formal review, the quality and priority of existing academic programs;
  4. addition, deletion, and changes in courses;
  5. academic program or department name changes and addition, deletion, and changes of master curriculum file prefixes, and major codes;
  6. academic requirements; and
  7. implementation and maintenance of the General Education program.

The Curriculum Council is the final recommending voice in curricular matters. Its recommendations go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The University Curriculum Council is organized into four Standing Committees: Program, Program Review, Individual Course, and General Education. The Program Committee is concerned with addition, and first follow-up of new programs, as well as deletion, relocation, Faculty Handbook Revised November 2022 108 and changes in existing academic programs, degrees, master curriculum file prefixes, and major codes. The Review Committee is concerned with cyclic review and evaluation of existing programs. The Individual Course Committee is concerned with coordination at the university level of addition, deletion, and changes in all individual course offerings. The General Education Committee is concerned with the implementation and maintenance of the General Education Program. If issues concerning educational and program requirements cannot be assigned to a standing committee, they will be reviewed by a special committee appointed by the chair. When dealing with graduate programs, the Curriculum Council and its committees work with the Graduate Council.

This committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Provost with authority delegated by Faculty Senate.


30 Faculty – Thirty faculty members, among whom are all members of the Educational Policy and Student Affairs Committee of the Faculty Senate, the vice chair of the Faculty Senate, and four faculty representatives of the Graduate Council: three members of the Curriculum Committee of the Graduate Council who are cross-appointed to the Program Committee of UCC and the chairperson of the Graduate Council
2 Graduate Students
5 Undergraduate Students
15 Administrators
• The deans or designees of the following Colleges: Arts and Sciences, Business, Scripps, Patton, Russ, Fine Arts, Health Sciences and Professions, Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, University College, Honors Tutorial College, Graduate College, and the Voinovich School; and the director or designee of the Center for International Studies; one administrator must be cross-appointed to the Program Committee of UCC and the Graduate Council Curriculum Committee;
• one regional campus dean, chosen by said deans as their representative;
• a member of the Alden Library staff
1 Ex-Officio - One representative of the Provost's Office.

Committee Roster


Sarah Poggione
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education


Jonathan Agensky

Sherleena Buchman
Assistant Professor, Nursing

Michele Clouse

Debra Cox

Justin Daering

Jared DeForest
Environmental and Plant Biology

Susan D. Dowell, DNP, MBA, CNE, RN-C
Associate Professor of Nursing

Fred Drogula

Todd Eisworth
Associate Professor, Math

Jodie Foster

Ann Bainbridge Frymier, Ed.D.
Director, Professor

Ellen Gordon
Assistant Professor, Analytics & Information Systems Department

Allyson Hallman-Thrasher
Teacher Education

Sara Hartman

Molly Johnson

Bruce Martin

Jim McKean
Associate Professor, Law Enforcement

Brenda Miller
Associate Professor, Chemistry

Talinn Phillips
Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Writing & Research Center

Beth Quitslund

Marci Shepard

Jennifer Smith
Fine Arts

Barbel Such
Modern Languages

Lijing Yang
Counseling and Higher Education

Yuquiu You

Valerie Young
Chemical Engineering


Chad Boeninger
University Libraries

Karla Hackenmiller

Joshua Hill
Director of Undergraduate Studies and Associate Professor of History

Mary Kate Hurley

David Juedes
Associate Dean for Academics, Professor Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Director of Avionics

Sally Marinellie
Health Sciences and Professions

Greg Newton
Professor, Media Arts & Studies

Dr. Hannah Nissen
Dean of Campus and Community Relations

Connie Patterson
Associate Dean, Education

Brittany Peterson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Ruger Porter
Biomedical Sciences

Nukhet Sandal
War and Peace Studies, Political Science

Jim Strode
Associate Professor Sports Administration

Paul Valentine

Graduate Students

Frank Oppong

Brooke Riley

Undergraduate Students

Garrett Beam

McKenna Christy

Dylan Demonte

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.