Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

University Curriculum Council

Charge and Membership

The University Curriculum Council is the final organization in a system of committees composed of departmental curriculum committees, college curriculum committees, and the University Curriculum Council itself. The function of the University Curriculum Council is to make recommendations concerning:

  • addition and deletion of academic programs;
  • after formal review, the quality and priority of existing academic programs;
  • addition, deletion, and changes in courses; and
  • academic requirements.

The Curriculum Council is the final recommending voice in curricular matters. Its recommendations go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The University Curriculum Council is organized into four standing committees: Program, Review, Individual Course, and General Education. The Program Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and first follow-up of new programs. The Review Committee is concerned with cyclic review and evaluation of existing programs. The Individual Course Committee is concerned with coordination at the university level of addition, deletion, and changes in all course offerings. The General Education Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and changes in all general education course offerings and with review and revision of general education structure and policies. If they cannot be assigned to a standing committee, issues concerning educational and program requirements will be reviewed by a special committee appointed by the chairperson. When dealing with graduate programs, the Curriculum Council and its committees work with the Graduate Council.

Composition

Faculty
30 Voting (1 Vice Chair of Faculty Senate, Serves as UCC Chair; 16 At Large; 12 EPSA Members; 1 Chair of Graduate Council)
Students
7 Voting (2 Graduate Students, 2 Alternate Graduate Students; 5 Undergraduate Students, 5 Alternate Undergraduate Students)
Administrative
14 Voting (10 College Deans/Dean Equivalent; 1 Assoc. Provost for International Studies; 1 Assoc. Provost for Graduate Studies; 1 Regional Campus Dean, chosen by Reg. Campus Deans; 1 Professional Staff of Alden Library) 1 Non-Voting, Ex-Officio: EVPP Rep.

Total
52 (1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio)

Committee Roster

Faculty

Tim Anderson
andersot@ohio.edu
Psychology

Gordon Brooks
brooksg@ohio.edu
Education Studies, Graduate Program
Graduate Council
2020

John Cotton
cotton@ohio.edu
Mechanical Engineering

Jim Dyer
dyer@ohio.edu
Geography

Kristine Ensign
ensign@ohio.edu
Applied Health Sciences and Wellness

Timothy Goheen
goheen@ohio.edu
Visual Communication

Katherine Hartman
hartmank@ohio.edu
Marketing

Sara Hartman
hartmans@ohio.edu
Education

Sara Helfrich
helfrich@ohio.edu
Teacher Education

Bayyinah Jeffries
jeffrieb@ohio.edu
African American Studies
Chair, Honorary Degree Committee
2021

Fuh-Cherng Jeng
jeng@ohio.edu
CHSP/Communication Studies
2022

Dr. Pramod Kanwar
kanwar@ohio.edu
Professor of Mathematics

Zaki Kuruppalil
kuruppal@ohio.edu
Engineering

Yang Li
liy1@ohio.edu
Neuroscience

Sally Marinellie
marinels@ohio.edu
Health Sciences and Professions

Jim McKean
mckean@ohio.edu
Law Enforcement

Bhutta Mohammed Khurrum
bhutta@ohio.edu
Operational Management

Ruth Palmer
palmerr@ohio.edu
Classics & World Religions

Andrew Pueschel
pueschel@ohio.edu
Management

Beth Quitslund
quitslun@ohio.edu
English

Mark Rowe
rowem@ohio.edu
Information Systems

Barbel Such
such@ohio.edu
Modern Languages
2022

Allison White
whitea3@ohio.edu
Associate Professor

Lijing Yang
yangl@ohio.edu
Counseling and Higher Education
2021

Administrators

Lorna Jean Edmonds
edmonds@ohio.edu
Vice Provost of Global Affairs

Randy Leite
leite@ohio.edu
Dean, College of Health Sciences & Professions

Renee Middleton
middletr@ohio.edu
Dean, Patton College of Education

Sarah Poggione
poggione@ohio.edu
Associate Dean, Arts and Sciences

Sherri Saines
saines@ohio.edu
University Libraries

Elizabeth Sayrs, Ph.D.
sayrs@ohio.edu
Executive Vice President and Provost

Matthew Shaftel
shaftel@ohio.edu
Dean, College of Fine Arts

Hugh Sherman
shermanh@ohio.edu
Dean, College of Business

Scott Titsworth
titswort@ohio.edu
Dean, Scripps College of Communication

Mei Wei
weim@ohio.edu
Dean, Russ College of Engineering and Technology

Mark Weinberg
weinberm@ohio.edu
Founding Dean, Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs
Voinovich School

William Willan
willanw@ohio.edu
Executive Dean, Regional Campuses

Graduate Students

Nick Bochenek
nb576011@ohio.edu

Edwin Dartey
ed864918@ohio.edu

Mohamad Javad Haghighat Manesh
mh611018@ohio.edu

Undergraduate Students

Courtney Archibald
ca226517@ohio.edu

Kaitlyn Booher
kb832817@ohio.edu

Benjamin Carmen
bc818216@ohio.edu

Ellen Gill-Franks
eg280217@ohio.edu

Stuart Stevenson
ss713615@ohio.edu

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.