Science Fair Committee

Charge and Membership

This Committee promotes science and offers expertise to the community of southeastern Ohio by sponsoring the regional science fair every year. It is crucial that all science and technology faculty participate to help shape the future of our children. Each science department in the University must have a member on this committee to help organize the fair, find judges, and coordinate prizes.

This Committee reports to the Ohio Academy of Science Junior Academy Council.


10 Faculty – Representatives must be Group I or Group II faculty from each of the following areas of study:
• 2 – Engineering
• 1 – Physics and Astronomy
• 1 – Geological or Environmental Sciences
• 1 – Plant and Environmental Sciences
• 1 – Psychology (Behavioral Science)
• 1 – Biology and Microbiology
• 1 – Chemistry and Biochemistry
• 1 – Health Sciences and Professions
• 1 – Biomedical Sciences
Ex-officio – up to 5 members from the above listed areas of study may join the committee to assist voting members.

Committee Roster


Anna Brooks
Applied Health Sciences and Professions

Kouree Chesser

Michael Grant

Klaus Himmeldrik

Sharon Inman
Biomedical Services

Natalie Kruse-Daniels
Environmental Studies

Mark Lucas

Bhaven Naik
Civil Engineering

Laura Saltman
Biological Sciences

Sumit Sharma
Chemical Engineering

Kim Thompson
Environmental Biology

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.