Science Café

Charge and Membership

Sigma Xi’s mission is “To enhance the health of research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public’s understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition.”  The OHIO Science Café highlights current research at Ohio University in a relaxed and friendly coffee house atmosphere. Speakers are selected by the Science Cadre. Faculty and students should be selected from the research active, Science Technology Engineering Math and Medicine (STEMM) departments on campus. Speakers are selected based on their research topic and their ability to present a stimulating presentation to a broad audience. Lectures and technical jargon are discouraged; displays, demos, audience activities and participation are encouraged. Topics are varied and participation/discussion encouraged.

Duties of the cadre for the Science Café are:

  • Collaborate to select the annual slate of topics, speakers, and dates for the cafés,
  • Distribute advertising/promote the program within their college/school,
  • Identify research opportunities, scholarships etc. for advertising and
  • Collect data from their department/college/school as appropriate.

This committee reports to the Ohio University chapter of Sigma Xi and the VP for Research and Creative Activity.


5 Faculty – Faulty members will rotate from among the following departments, relevant to Sigma Xi and the Science Café’s mission: biology, plant biology, physics, mathematics, chemistry, psychology, engineering, health sciences, medicine, and social sciences. Faculty serve three-year terms and may serve an unlimited number of terms.
3 Graduate Students – must be from STEMM fields
2 Undergraduate Students – must be from STEMM fields
2 Ex-officio – One administrator from the Office of the VP for Research and Creative Activity, and the Event Services Director of Production or designee will serve as ex-officio members of this committee and will have voting rights.

Committee Roster


Diego Alvarado-Serrano

Erik Boczko

Howard Dewald

Sharon Perry

Nancy Sandler

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.