Charge and Membership

Library Committee

The University Library Committee advises the Director of Libraries and the University administration on broad policies relating to the libraries and library services. Examples of issues on which the Committee offers advice include but are not limited to: circulation policies, collection development, acquisitions funds, user services, and space needs and utilization. The Committee further seeks to develop and disseminate information on library and research needs, library concerns from and affecting various segments of the university community, and present and future library services.

The Committee advises the Director of Libraries and makes recommendations to the Provost on Library-related matters. 


Faculty :  8 Voting
Students :  3 Voting (1 Graduate, 2 Undergraduate)
Administrative : 2 Voting (1 At Large; 1 Dean of University LIbraries or Designee)
Classified : 1 Voting

Total : 14 Voting

Committee Roster

Bill Reader, Chair Scripps 2020
Volha Belskaya Economics 2020
Scott Carson Philosophy 2021
Paul Milazzo History 2021
Mike Jensen Chemsitry/Biochemistry 2021
William Larson Education 2019
Sharon Rana Applied Health Sciences 2019
Jennifer Shadik Social Work 2019
Undergraduate Students      
Justin Kelly   2019
Madeline Baker   2019
Graduate Student      
Caitlin Bentley   2019
Classified Staff      
Jeff Fulk Library 2021
Lisa Dael Patton College of Education 2020
Ex Officio        
Scott Seaman Dean, Ohio University Libraries  
Current as of September 14, 2018    


All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.