Search within:

2009 Phillips Medal Recipients

Phillips Medal Recipients

2009 Recipients

Eric D. Fingerhut, J.D., Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents

Eric D. Fingerhut, J.D., serves as the seventh Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents. He is the first to be appointed by the Governor of the State of Ohio as a member of his cabinet. As Chancellor, Mr. Fingerhut envisioned and implemented the University System of Ohio. The system is a partnership of Ohio's state universities, community colleges, adult workforce centers and literacy programs, designed to make higher education affordable for Ohioans. As a former state senator, former member of the U.S. House of Representatives, and staunch advocate for medical and higher education, Mr. Fingerhut has demonstrated a longtime commitment to serving the needs of Ohioans. He was on the state Finance Committee for eight years and has served on numerous other committees, including those dealing with education, insurance, health, and aging.

David P. Blom, M.H.A., President and Chief Executive Officer of OhioHealth

David P. Blom, M.H.A., is the president and chief executive officer of OhioHealth, a not-for-profit, faith-based health system headquartered in Columbus, Ohio. OhioHealth serves 46 Ohio counties through eight member hospitals, nine affiliated hospitals, and many other health care facilities and services. Mr. Blom has worked tirelessly to advance OhioHealth's mission of improving the health of those it serves. Four years after Mr. Blom took the helm at OhioHealth, it was named a Press Ganey Success Story in recognition of outstanding patient satisfaction. Under Mr. Blom's guidance, OhioHealth earned a spot on Fortune magazine's list, "100 Best Companies to Work For," for three consecutive years. As CEO, Mr. Blom has been integral in developing partnerships with Ohio University in medicinal education, research, and clinical services.