Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation

Summer 2016

Welcome, New Bobcats! 

Did you stop by our table during Bobcat Student Orientation?  If so, you may be looking for one of these links...

  • Sustainable Ohio University Leaders (SOUL): A professional development organization that helps find solutions to real-world problems right here on campus! 
  • ES4832: Sustainability Implementation: Earn course credit for helping with sustainability issues on campus. All academic disciplines are invited to enroll. 
  • Sustainable Investing Advisory Committee (SIAC): A student organization, tasked initially with developing guidelines for student-managed equity and fixed-income financial portfolios that incorporate evaluations of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues.   
  • Zero Waste: Learn more about the Zero Waste movement at Ohio University and how you can get involved!

Or, you can contact us by emailing
 Welcome to Ohio University, Bobcats!  We're glad you're here.


Hockhocking Adena Bikeway Mile Marker Painting Days are June 29 and 30. 

Ohio University's Office of Sustainability is working with partners throughout the County to paint new mile markers on the Bikeway.  The pathway will be reduced to a single lange in multiple locations throughout those two days.  Learn more about the volunteer efforts and all the people who are making this effort happen!



Revision Process for the
Sustainability Plan & Climate Action Plan: 

As Ohio University approaches its five year anniversary of the development of the University’s first Sustainability Plan, a full revision process has begun.  The University has recently announced that the public comment period for this revision has been extended a full year, with public comments being accepted until May 1, 2017.

More information is available at 


Earth Day 2016

Congratulations to our 2016 Sustainability Award Winners!

Earth Day 2016, Sustainability Award Winners

Pictured: Sam Crowl (Office of Sustainability staff), Bruce Underwood (Innovation Award), Fran McFadden (Faculty Sustainability Research and Advocacy Award), Kristen Herbst (Staff Sustainability Advocacy Award), Abe Kitchen (on behalf of the Sustainable Living Floor for the Sustainable Residential Hall Award), Catherine Marshall (on behalf of Office of Global Opportunities for the Sustainable Department Award), Kate Blyth (Sustainable Student Leadership Award), Cheyenne Fenstemaker (Office of Sustainability Student Leadership Award), Elaine Goetz (Office of Sustainability staff), and Liz Rose (on behalf of the Sustainable Living Floor for the Sustainable Residential Hall Award)