Search within:

Outstanding Class of 2023 students recognized at awards ceremony

May 18, 2023
Student Joselyn Hines is recognized at 2023 HCOM Commencement Awards ceremony

A crowded house at Temple-Blackburn Alumni Memorial Auditorium cheered on the achievements of the Class of 2023 during the Commencement Awards Ceremony. Students were recognized for leadership, research and more. The award recipients are as follows:

Departmental Awards

Biomedical Sciences Award

Cody Criss


Family Practice Award

Danielle Stakes


Obstetrics and Gynecology Award

Ariana Cucci


Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine Award

Clare Bacon


Pediatrics Award

Carli Sebest


Social Medicine Award

Joselyn Hines


Global Health Award

Luc Messenger


Specialty Medicine Award

Elizabeth Zollos

Clinical Awards

Adena Health System

Grant Huber


Students on stage waiting to receive award during HCOM award ceremony

Central Ohio

Richard Boyd

Mark Bugada

Lauren Spaeth


Cleveland Clinic Akron General

Sydney Pence


Cleveland Clinical Campus

John Bennison



Addie Davis


Fairfield Medical Center

Raisa Amin


Firelands Regional Medical Center

Timothy Spichiger


Greater Cleveland

Amber Hunter

Marc Edwards


Holzer Health System

Andy Caillet


Kettering Health

Ngocminh Truong


Memorial Health System

Diana Wheeler


Mercy Health St. Rita’s Medical Center

Pavithra Kannan


Mercy Health St. Vincent Medical Center

Kelly Haidar


Ohio Health O’Bleness Hospital

David Hartman


Southern Ohio Medical Center

Samuel Hankins


University Hospitals Lake West Medical Center

Brennan Cull


Student Cody Criss receives award during HCOM award ceremony

Research Awards

Outstanding Research Award

Anthony Rizzo, Jr.


Outstanding Research Award-Dual Degree

Cody Criss


Dean’s Awards

Athens Campus

Michael Carbone


Dublin Campus

Mark Bugada


Cleveland Campus

Daniel Phillip


Executive Dean’s Endowed Scholarship

Ciara Amstutz

Kristina Kazimir

Amy Swan-Cooper


Student Mark Bugada receives student doctor of the year award

All-College Awards

Student Doctor of the Year

Mark Bugada


Diversity and Inclusion Advocate Award

Joselyn Hines>


Osteopathic Leadership and Service Award

Joselyn Hines


Dr. Robbin Kirkland Award for Professionalism

Kristina Myers


Osteopathic Heritage Award

Clare Bacon


>Donna Jone Moritsugu Memorial Award

(Recognizes the spouse or partner of a graduating medical student for their support)

Brett Kinkopf spouse of Christel Kinkopf, D.O.


Primary Care Associates

Casey Koth

Chelsea Sadek

Chris Keener

Ciara Amstutz

Clare Bacon

Emma Skerl

Jasmine Long

Mark Bugada

Michael A. Lawless

Sumedha Medicherla