Search within:

Exemplary Faculty Awards

Distinguished Professor Award

The Distinguished Professor Award recognizes outstanding scholarly and creative accomplishments and is the highest permanent recognition attainable by faculty at Ohio University. Recipients must have attained tenure and completed a minimum of five years of service at Ohio University.
Among the privileges granted to Distinguished Professors is the honor of annually naming an undergraduate student to receive a year’s full-tuition scholarship, lifetime designation title of Distinguished Professor, a one-quarter paid research leave, stipend, and travel support. The award, first given in 1959, is supported by an endowment provided by Edwin and Ruth Kennedy to the Baker Fund. (Click here for additional information.)

Presidential Teacher Award

Presidential Teachers are chosen from among tenured full-time faculty who have been nominated by Ohio University students, alumni, or peers. Selection is based on excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside the classroom. Innovative teaching efforts, curriculum development, mentoring students and fellow faculty members, and scholarship are among the areas considered. Those selected for the award receive the title Presidential Teacher for three years along with a yearly monetary award during that time. (Click here for additional information.)

University Professor Award

The University Professor program recognizes outstanding teaching at the university. Students bestow the honor of University Professor on four tenure-track faculty yearly, after a selection process that begins with nominations from the student body. Faculty so honored then have the freedom to develop and teach two courses of their own choosing during the following year as a means of enriching the undergraduate curriculum. Since its founding in 1970, the University Professor program has recognized over 200 professors for their teaching excellence. (Click here for additional information)

Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching

This award is based on excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside the classroom, as acknowledged by peers and students, including: teaching practices and innovations, influences on curriculum, student mentoring, colleague mentoring, and scholarship with respect to teaching. Each award recipient will hold the title of Provost Teacher for three years and will receive $1,000 annually ($3,000 total) during that time. (Click here for additional information.)

Mac Outstanding Faculty Award for Student Success

The MAC Outstanding Faculty Award for Student Success recognizes one full-time faculty member nominee from each MAC institution  who has shown a dedication to student success. The MAC also honors one nominee who has gone above and beyond in their dedication to their students as the overall winner of the Outstanding Faculty Award for Student Success. (Click here for additional information.).