Image of the top of Cutler Hall on a foggy morning
Distinguished Professor Award

Distinguished Professor Award

The Distinguished Professor Award recognizes outstanding scholarly and creative accomplishments and is the highest permanent recognition attainable by faculty at Ohio University. Recipients must have attained tenure and completed a minimum of five years of service at Ohio University.

Among the privileges granted to Distinguished Professors is the honor of annually naming an undergraduate student to receive a year's full-tuition scholarship, lifetime designation title of Distinguished Professor, a one-quarter paid research leave, stipend, and travel support.

The award, first given in 1959, is supported by an endowment provided by Edwin and Ruth Kennedy to the Baker Fund.

Distinguished Professor Information Sessions to be held in November

The Distinguished Professor Selection Committee will hold one-hour information sessions in November open to both potential nominators and nominees to provide an overview of the selection criteria, the selection process, and nomination instructions.  In addition, attendees will also have an opportunity to ask questions.  

Attendees will be able to attend the sessions in-person or over Teams on the following dates: