Ohio University

Search within:

Presidential Teacher Awards

Information and Nominations

Presidential Teacher Award recipient selection is based on excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside the classroom, as acknowledged by peers and students, including teaching practices and innovations, influences on curriculum, student mentoring, colleague mentoring, and scholarship with respect to teaching. Each award recipient will hold the title of Presidential Teacher for three years and will receive $1,000 annually ($3,000 total) during that time.


Faculty must be full-time TENURED faculty from one of Ohio University's campuses.

Selection Committee

The Presidential Teacher Award Selection Committee evaluates applicants. The committee, selected by the associate provost for faculty and academic planning, with approval by the president, is composed of six full-time, tenure-track faculty (three of whom are Presidential Teachers), one undergraduate student and one graduate student. Students and faculty from the College of Osteopathic Medicine may serve. Faculty members on the committee serve three-year rotating terms. Students serve one-year terms. The committee can select up to two faculty for awards annually. However, the committee may choose not to give any awards if no applicants meet the award standards.


All Ohio University faculty, alumni, and students may nominate. Announcements inviting nominations will be sent out campus-wide during fall semester of each year.

Notification of Nomination

Eligible nominees are notified via an e-mail sent to their OHIO address.

Application Information

Nominated faculty, click here to go to the application information page.

Selection Process

The committee can select up to eight finalists based on the merit of their portfolios. Once selected, the committee observes each finalist in the classroom and interviews each finalist. The committee then makes a determination as to which, if any, will receive the award.

A committee representative notifies winners and finalists after the selection process is complete.

If you have questions, please contact Katie Hartman, Associate Provost for Faculty Development (hartmank@ohio.edu).

Past recipients of the Presidential Teacher Award.