Ohio University

skip to main content
Connect

Our Faculty

 

   

Jonathan Dr. Jonathan Agensky

Political Science /  agensky@ohio.edu
International Relations, Global Governance

 

 


  

Bhutta Dr. Khurrum S. Bhutta

Operations Management | bhutta@ohio.edu
Operations Management, Quantitative Analysis, Project Management

 

     

         

 


     

casapulla Dr. Sharon Casapulla

Family Medicine / Reynols1@ohio.edu
Qualitative Methods, Rural communities (Appalachia and Ecuador), Diabetes, Health Literacy, Education

   


Dr. Amy E. Chadwick

Chadwick Dr. Chadwick is an assistant professor at Ohio University specializing in health communication and environmental communication. She currently is a member of the School of Communication Studies at Scripps College of Communication as well as affiliated faculty in communication and development studies program at the Center for International Studies.

Dr. Chadwick received her education at Penn State University with research interest in persuasion, message design, health communication, and environmental communication. Dr. Chadwick has a holistic approach in reaching out to audiences with aims of raising awareness in critical issues related to health and the lived environment



Chawla Dr. Devika Chawla

Communications Studies| chawla@ohio.edu
Performative and narrative approaches to marital and family identity in the South Asian context, Interpretive research practices, Performance and ethnography, and postcolonial studies

 

                       

 

                  


cheng Dr. Hong Cheng

Journalism | chengh@ohio.edu
International advertising, global branding, and social marketing.

 

             

 


chimeli Dr. Ariaster Chimeli

Economics | chimeli@ohio.edu
Environmental economics, Energy economics and Microeconomics.

 

 

                           

                

     

 

   


ciekawy Dr. Diane Ciekawy

Anthropology | ciekawy@ohio.edu
Political anthropology, Colonialism development and underdevelopment, Religion, Anthropology of healing, Africa

 

                    


dabelko

Dr. Geoffrey Dabelko

Environmental Studies | dabelkog@ohio.edu
Climate change, natural resources, and security as well as environmental pathways to confidence- and peace-building, with a special emphasis on water resources.

     

                     


grijalva Dr. Mario Grijalva

Biomedical Sciences | grijalva@ohio.edu
Multidisciplinary approach to infectious disease control in Ecuador, South America.

    
 

 

     

 


hallowell Dr. Brooke Hallowell

Rehabilitation and Communication Sciences | hallowel@ohio.edu
Aging and disability, gerontology, communication disorders, and research career development in development contexts

             


Steve Howard Dr. Steve Howard

Media Arts and Studies  howard@ohio.edu

Research methods/field methods in Africa; participatory research methods, Islam in Africa, Communication in the Muslim World, Rural development in Africa, social movements in Africa, Islam and socio-cultural change, children and African development.

  

 


Theo Hutchinson

Dr. Theodore Hutchinson

Education | hutchinj@ohio.edu
Philosophies of Education, Radical democratic community, anti-bias education, and pluralism (race, social class, gender and sexual orientation)

                   

       

 


ice Dr. Gillian Ice

Social Medicine | iceg@ohio.edu
Human biology, Aging, Stress, Long-term care to grand parenting

 

   

                


Brad-Jokisch Dr. Brad Jokisch

Geography | jokisch@ohio.edu
Population, environment and development, impacts of population change in Latin America (Ecuador).

                  

 

                      


kim_1 Dr. Yeong-hyun Kim

Geography | kimy1@ohio.edu
Globalization, World-city politics and international labor migration

 

 

   


Derek Dr. Derek Kauneckis 

Leadership and Public Affairs | kaunecki@ohio.edu
Voinovich School of Leadeship and Public Affairs

 

   


 


Kingori-Md Dr. Caroline Kingori

Social & Publich Health | kingori@ohio.edu
HIV/AIDS and mental health among people of African descent and immigrants; alcohol and drug use, community based participatory research, other sexually transmitted infections, health literacy and physical activity, instrument design and testing, program planning, implementation, community coalition-building; and monitoring and evaluation.

                          


Jieli-Li Dr. Jieli Li

Sociology | lij@ohio.edu
Sustainable Development, Social Change, Comparative Institutions, Democratization, Social Movements, and Conflict Resolution.

                   

 

 


Millesen_Judy Dr. Judith Millesen

Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs | millesen@ohio.edu
Public Administration, Nonprofit management, Nonprofit fundraising

 

 

                
 


James Mosher Dr. James Mosher

Political Science | mosherj@ohio.edu 
College of Arts and Sciences


Musaraj Dr. Smoki Musaraj

Sociology and Anthropology / musaraj@ohio.edu Anthropology of Money and Value, Cash Economies, Bubbles and Crashes, Postsocialist Transformations, Corruption and the Rule of Law, Speculation in Construction

 

 

   


Julia Paxton Dr. Julia Paxton

Economics | Website | paxton@ohio.edu
Poverty, Development economics, International agricultural development, Microfinance

 

             

 


saar Dr. Assan Sarr

History / sarr@ohio.edu Women in African History, Modern Africa, Modern Africa's political and social history, Land tenure, Peace and conflict in Africa

 

 

                        

 


steve_scanlan Dr. Stephen Scanlan

Sociology | Website | scanlans@ohio.edu
Environmental sociology; globalization; hunger and food insecurity; poverty and global inequality; gender and development; social movements and social change

                

 


smucker_1 Dr. Thomas Smucker

Geography | smucker@ohio.edu
Social and environmental change, land tenure, rural livelihood and resource management, and household and community strategies for coping with drought in East Africa

 

 

 

                   


wangui_3 Dr. Elizabeth Edna Wangui

Interim Director
Geography | wangui@ohio.edu
Rural livelihoods in Africa with an emphasis on the intersections of gender, environment and development. Recent research focus has been on pastoralism and climate change adaptation in Southern Kenya and Northern Tanzania.

 

 

 

 

   


Myra-Waterbury Dr. Myra Waterbury

Political Science | waterbur@ohio.edu
Transnational ethnic relations, nationalism and politics, Diasporas and migration, politics of citizenship and democratization

 


whitson_1 Dr. Risa Whitson

Geography/Women's Studies | whitson@ohio.edu
Gender and development, Social geographies, informal sector, Argentina


   

   
   

   
   

   
   

Section Menu