Search within:

CIS Awards

2023 CIS Awards

Outstanding Student Awards

This award recognizes a student in each program who has contributed holistically to not just their academic program, but to also the CIS and the university community. These students maintain a high GPA, participate in various on-campus activities, and serve as role models for their fellow students. This year’s awards went to: 

  • Global Studies – Callie Flood
  • Global Leadership Center – Bozeman Koonce
  • African Studies – Phyllis Gyang
  • Asian Studies – Trinh Nguyen
  • Communication and Development Studies – Victor Dei
  • International Development Studies – Weston Marume
  • Latin American Studies – María Angélica Valencia Tapia
  • War & Peace – Bryan Hall-Jones

Academic Excellence Awards

This award is for students who maintain high academic standards and have a cumulative GPA of 3.8 and above.

Graduate Students

African Studies
  • John Akoeda
  • Louisa Amaadi     
  • Amie Bah
  • Gerard Chukwu
  • Kemo Danso
  • Jennifer Donko
  • Teslima Jallow
  • Maria Johnny
  • Collins Ketere
  • Vanessa Kwakye
Asian Studies
  • Sapta Abimanyu
  • Trinh Nguyen
  • Kyaw Min Oo
  • Zinia Sharmin
Communication and Dev Studies
  • Ahmed Aly
  • Raymond Ayivor
  • Shalewa Babatayo
  • Usman Bah
  • Wilhemina Bofla
  • Abena Bosompem
  • Paul Celi Cabrera
  • Victor Dei
  • Akosua Denkyi
  • Narges Ghafary
  • Parwana Hamdam
  • Ijeoma Idika-Chima
  • Bedu Kgosi
  • Yara Lane
  • Anisha Mahima
  • Zohal Nasrat
  • Ama Ofori-Birikorang
International Development Studies
  • Shamsuddeen Bello
  • Weston Marume
  • Maruf Mohammed
  • Abubakar Osman
  • Saloni Sabatino
  • Sarah Valiquette
Latin American Studies
  • Mabel Bustamante
  • Estefanny Magdiel Perez Duque
  • Anastasiia Sakharova
  • María Angélica Valencia Tapia
War and Peace Studies
  • Bryan Hall-Jones
  • Evan Schalon

Undergraduate students

  • Ethan Brown
  • Emma Prochaska
  • Alice Dorrell
  • Lydia Gehr
War and Peace
  • Callie Flood
  • Alyssa Manning
  • Grace Weisel


Special Recognition certificates

  • Drs. Sadek and Anne Samaan Scholarship Fund for Mutual Understanding – Vanessa Kwakye
  • Patricia Weitsman Memorial Scholarship – Alyssa Manning and Alysen Dwyer
  • David Crane Fellowship in International Affairs – Sarah Ladipo
  • Thomas and Anne Walker Scholarship – Estefanny Perez Duque Magdiel
  • Daniel Shao Scholarship – Aryn Monroe, Audrey Riyadi, Bozeman Koonce, Cierra Willis
  • FLTA for Indonesian – Hardi Wijakesuma
  • FLTA for Malay – Mohd "Dean" Azman
  • FLTA for Thai – Praiya Chinnachat
  • TA for Indonesian – Sapta Abimanyu
  • TA for Wolof – Amie Bah
  • TA for Hindi – Anisha Mahima
  • TA for Akan – Phyllis Gyang
  • CIS GA - Judith Offei
  • CIS GA – Angelah Bor
  • CIS GA – Parwana Hamdam
  • GLC GA – Benafsha Faizy
  • PACE Student for OVIC – Alyssa Manning

Recognition of External Awards

Nationally Competitive Awards

  • Abby Hutzel – Fulbright English Teaching Assistant for Taiwan
  • Ethan Brown – Critical Language Scholarship (Swahili)
  • Alaina Bender – Fulbright Hayes Group Projects Abroad Grant (Swahili)

Phi Beta Kappa Initiates

  • Amy Baciak – Global Studies War and Peace
  • Ethan Brown – Global Studies Africa
  • Alice Dorrell – Global Studies Asia
  • Callie Flood – Global Studies War and Peace
  • Kristina Miller – Global Studies Asia
  • Joey Phipps – Global Studies Europe
  • Grace Weisel – Global Studies War and Peace

CIS Faculty Awards

CIS Excellence in Teaching Award

This award honors faculty members for their outstanding contribution to the Center's teaching mission. This award went to;

  • Dr. Edna Wangui, Professor & Chair, Geography
  • Anna-Kaye Rowe, ACE, Ohio University
CIS Advising and Mentoring Award

This award honors faculty members for their outstanding record of ensuring the academic success of the Center's students. This award went to;

  • Dr. Joshua Hill, Associate Professor, Director of the Master of Social Sciences Program, and Interim Director of Global Studies Undergraduate Programs
Friend of the CIS Award

This award honors faculty members for their distinguished contribution  and dedication to the Center, its students, and its mission. This award went to;

  • Dr. Andy Ray, Director, International Student Services
Distinguished Service Award

This award honors faculty and staff members for exemplary contributions and dedication to CIS, its students, and its mission. These awards went to;

  • Dr. Chris Thompson, Professor, Linguistics
  • Dr. Betsy Partyka, Associate Professor of Spanish & Graduate Chair, Modern Languages
  • Brianne Dowler, Assistant Director, Center for International Studies
  • Dr. Patrick Barr-Melej, Interim Executive Director, Center for International Studies