Search within:

Diversity Committee

Who We Are

The Scripps College of Communication Diversity Committee consists of faculty members from each of the five schools in the college, WOUB Public Media, and graduate and undergraduate students.

The committee strives to create and maintain a culture that actively and intentionally promotes both the college’s and Ohio University’s vision for diversity and inclusion.

The committee’s work within the college is guided by college’s conception of diversity and inclusion:

The Scripps College of Communication's concept of diversity encompasses acceptance and respect. It is understanding that each individual has a unique set of life experiences shaped along the dimensions of race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation and gender identity, socio-economic status, age, abilities, and religious, political, and ideological beliefs. It is about understanding one another and moving beyond simple tolerance to embracing and celebrating the distinct attributes of each individual. The College embraces diversity and the exploration of varied life experiences in a positive and nurturing environment.

The committee works to support diversity and inclusion within the college through undergraduate scholarships, the support of on-campus programming, and the promotion of student and faculty research.

What we Provide

Thanks to an endowment from the Scripps Howard Foundation the Committee is able to offer support in a number of ways.

  • Student Scholarships

    The committee provides $10,000 in scholarships to Scripps students from underrepresented groups. Eligible students may apply for these scholarships as part of each school’s general scholarship application. Interested students may contact their school’s scholarship coordinator or the committee member from their respective school for additional information.

  • Programming Support

    Faculty, staff, and students may apply for funding to support programming related to members of underrepresented communities. Funds can be used in support of honorariums, food, lodging, and transportation related to the program.

  • Travel Support for Students

    Graduate and undergraduate students may apply for support to help defray costs for travel to academic or professional conferences. 

  • Research Support for Graduate Students

    Graduate students may apply for support of their master’s thesis/project or dissertation research. Eligible graduate students must either be from an underrepresented group or their research must involve an underrepresented group.

  • Faculty Mini-Grants

    Faculty members in the college are encouraged to apply for mini-grants to support research and teaching efforts that promote diversity and inclusion. 

  • Application Deadlines

    Applications are accepted on a rolling basis up until Nov 1 for fall semester and March 1 for spring semester. The committee prefers that materials be submitted by these dates, but reserves the right to consider requests outside of these timeframes if necessary.

Committee Members

Gary Kirksey

Gary Kirksey is a professor in the School of Visual Communication. Gary has been active in the National Association of Black Journalists serving as the past chair of the Visual Task Force within NABJ.  In addition to his advertising work, Gary's photography has been featured in publications including the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and Life magazine.

Mark Turner

Mark Turner is an assistant professor at the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. Turner is the former executive news editor at the Akron Beacon Journal. Before joining the Pulitzer-awarded

Trevor Roycroft

Trevor Roycroft is Professor Emeritus in the J. Warren McClure School of Emerging Communication Technologies, where he conducts graduate and undergraduate courses in regulatory policy and law, privacy, and the economics of information and telecommunication industries.

Mia Walsh

Mia Walsh is a sophomore studying journalism at OHIO and a Cutler Scholar. At Thread Magazine, she is SEAMS section editor. Mia is also the Scripps College Representative for Bobcat Student Orientation. She regularly writes for both Thread Magazine and Backdrop Magazine on campus.

Roger Cooper

Roger Cooper is an Associate Professor of Media Arts and Studies at Ohio University and Director of the OHIO-in-Los Angeles Program. He focuses on career development in the media and creative industries. He is a recipient of the University Professor Award. Roger has published research on the attributes of career success and presented papers and panels at national and international conferences.

Patricia Porter

Patricia Porter is a senior studying photojournalism with a Diversity Studies certificate at Ohio University. She is a VISCOM scholar and on the Deans’s list. She is the Marketing & Communications Manager of Athena Cinema and is a VISCOM ambassador. She has worked for Backdrop Magazine, Thread Magazine, Southeast Ohio Magazine, Soul of Athens and The Post.

Atish Baidya

Atish Baidya is the editor in chief at WOUB Public Media. He’s been at WOUB and Ohio University since 2012. Prior to WOUB, Atish served as a general assignment reporter in Charleston West Virginia, and as an anchor reporter at WHIZ-TV in Zanesville Ohio. Atish been on the committee since 2015 and served as chair from 2017 to 2019.

Iman Ikram

Iman Ikram is an international doctoral student in the health communication track at the School of Communication Studies. She practiced dentistry and health care administration in India. Currently, her interest lies in women's health specifically negotiating stigmatization against menstruation in terms of culture and gender.