Search within:
Birds-eye view of golf carts lined up on a path
Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Event
September 21-22, 2023

Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Event

Gathering to Support McClure Students

Join us on Thursday and Friday, September 21-22, for our annual event!

Event proceeds will benefit the J. Warren McClure School Advisory Board Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Endowment.

Event questions? Contact Nick Lathrop and follow us on LinkedIn.

Number of golf events hosted by the Advisory Board
Amount raised for scholarships
Number of scholarships awarded


Thursday, September 21
11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

Ohio University Grand Prix Only (Mario Kart 8 Tournament)

Esports room in Scripps Hall

5:30-8:30 p.m.

Welcome Banquet

Jackie O's Taproom and Brewery
25 Campbell St.
Athens, OH 45701

Friday, September 22 - Golf Outing
8:30 a.m.

Registration opens

Athens Country Club
7606 Country Club Road 94220
Athens, OH  45701

9:45 a.m. Pictures
10 a.m.

Tournament Shotgun Start

Athens Country Club

11 a.m.


Open to non-golfers as well

2:30 - 4 p.m.

19th Hole Social and Awards

Athens Country Club Clubhouse


Lonsbury Event Details

Venue information
  • Reception & Banquet
  • Golf Tournament Participants
  • Accommodations at the Ohio University Inn and Conference Center and Athens Central Hotel. Register by Sept. 8 to reserve your room! You must call and ask for “Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Event” to receive a special rate.
  • Athens Central Hotel
    88 E. State St. | Athens, OH
    $20 off room rates when you call and ask for “Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Event”
  • Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
    31 Richland Ave. | Athens, OH
    --$129 per room per night plus applicable taxes for Wednesday, Sept. 20, and Thursday, Sept. 21
    --$139.00 per room per night plus applicable taxes for Friday, Sept. 22

Golf Classic Rules

All play will be governed by the U.S.G.A. Rules of Golf


Four‑Person Lauderdale Scramble. Each player will hit the tee shot. The players will choose the ball in the best position and all four players will play from that point. This format will be used until hole is completed.

Bogey is your friend and the highest score you can take on any given hole.


Teams will use a minimum of 2 tee shots by each player – one on the front nine ‑ one on the back nine.

Men shall play the first 9 holes from the White Tee‑Markers and the second 9 holes from the 
GREEN Tee‑Markers.

Women shall play from the Red Tee‑Markers both times around. 

Preferred lies Players may improve the lie of the ball one club‑length of its original lie no nearer the hole. The ball must remain in it’s original condition. A ball in the rough must remain in the rough, a ball in a bunker must remain in the bunker, etc.. Once the ball is on the putting surface the ball may be moved one putter‑head length, no nearer the hole.
Ties All ties will be decided by scorecard playoff, starting with the #1 Handicap hole, then #2 and working forward until a hole has been won.
Proximity Challenges

Prizes awarded for: 

  • Longest drive: #8 (from the Green Tee only) 
  • Closest to the pin: #5 & #14
  • Longest putt: #9 & #18
Mulligans Mulligans may be purchased in advance, two per person and eight per foursome.  Mulligans may be used on any shot including putts but are not to be used on the prize holes.


Event History

In 2002, Thomas Lonsbury — an avid golfer and member of the McClure School Advisory Board — suggested that the board establish a scholarship for outstanding students in the McClure ITS program and fund it with proceeds from a golf classic. The board agreed and promptly named Lonsbury chair of the advisory board for the Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Golf Classic.

Lonsbury chaired the event until his death in 2012. That year’s tournament was the first to be called the Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Golf Classic. Advisory board member Garon Gentzel took over leadership of the event for eight seasons. New advisory board member Nick Lathrop will continue the tradition of keeping our alumni engaged with their university.

Our Hall of Champions 

2022 Progressive Insurance Score: 59

Mark Langhans
Ray Mack
Ivan Tomic
Prabu Rajaknar

2021 Nationwide Insurance Score: 62 Tod Bickley
Doug Hromeo
Justin Surber
Erik Langhans
2019 Progressive Insurance Score: 62 Ray Mack
Prabu Rajakumar
Angelo Martella
Ivan Tomic


Score: 62 Mike Casey
Casey Babinger
Andrew Bednar
Jeremy Shoup
2017 Progressive Insurance Score: 60 Kacee Babinger 
Mike Casey 
Jeremy Shoup 
Gary Weckman
2016   Score: 61 Joe Wiles 
Jason Stidham 
Mike Perez 
Greg Wheeler
2015   Score: 61 Tim Linson 
Brad Webb 
Bryan Ireton 
2014   Score: 61 Tim Linson 
Todd Hatton 
Steve Burke 
Kevin Mueller 
2013   Score: 60 Tom Cunningham 
Jeff Holkovic 
Scott Hollowell 
Dan Davies 
2012   Score: 59 Sean Davidson 
Benjah Miller 
Evan Reid 
Alex Meierdiercks
2011   Score: 59 Jason Ice
Ryan Burnett
Marc Mendoza
Glenn Montz
2010   Score: 57 James Frost
Tom Grosh
Patrick Stepman
Sean Davidson
2009   Score: 59 Ken Bailey
Sean Davidson
Rick Manderick
Benjah Miller
2008   Score: 60 Tom Grosh
Sean Swanson
Tom Smith
(3-person team)
2007 Pepsi-7UP/Nortel Score: 60 Randy Denny
Jim Hurphy
Jerry Koelling 
Gary Shook
2006 Progressive Insurance Score: 61 Brian Chylik
Pete Costanzo
Mark Langhans
Steve McCullough
2005 OU Binge Brothers Assoc. Score: 62 Tom Grosh
Mike Kirincic
Don McMillan
Kevin Walsh
2004 OU Binge Brothers Assoc. Score: 61 Tom Grosh
Ken Jones
Mike Kirincic
Kevin Walsh
2003 Avaya Score: 62 Jeff Courtright
Tim Esker
Tom Lonsbury
Tom Waterman
2002 Avaya Score: 30 Jeff Courtright
Tim Esker
Tom Lonsbury
Tom Waterman
(9 holes played due to Hurricane Isidore)

Thank you to our tournament sponsors 

Progressive logo
Tollanis logo
vaco logo
cisco logo
Spectrum logo
Guesswork VR
GameU logo
AFNI logo
Lookout Advisors logo
Slalom logo
Vertiv logo