Ohio University

Don Swaim Collection

Swaim Banner

Browse the collection   search the collection

This digital collection available currently consists of audio files and transcripts of broadcasts from Don Swaim’s radio program Book Beat, featuring hundreds of contemporary authors including Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison, Pulitzer Prize winners John Updike and Ray Bradbury, and Booker Prize winners Margaret Atwood and Kazuo Ishiguro.

The Libraries seeks funding to transcribe the full interviews from which the Book Beat radio broadcasts were excerpted. The audio of those full interviews is coming soon! See the full collection finding aid.

Don Swaim was born in Wichita, Kansas in 1936. He graduated from Ohio University in 1959 with a BFA degree. He went on to work with WCBS in New York City as a writer, editor, reporter, anchor, and producer for 30 years. For twelve years, Swaim produced the radio series Book Beat, interviewing many outstanding writers. In addition to his broadcast journalism career, Swaim also writes fiction.

Interviews with literary award winners included in the Don Swaim Collection

American Book Award winners

Russell Banks | Amiri Baraka | Sandra Cisneros | Henry Louis Gates, Jr. | William Kennedy | Paule Marshall | Toni Morrison | Gary Snyder | Art Spiegelman | John Edgar Wideman

Booker Prize winners

Margaret Atwood | John Banville | Ian McEwan | Kazuo Ishiguro | Ruth Prawer Jhabvala | Thomas Keneally | Bernice Rubens | Graham Swift | Barry Unsworth

Edgar Award winners

Lawrence Block | Mary Higgins Clark | Dick Francis | Frederick Forsyth | Tony Hillerman | P. D. James | Stuart Kaminsky | Elmore Leonard | Ed McBain (Evan Hunter) | Robert B. Parker | T. Jefferson Parker | Ruth Rendell | Joseph Wambaugh | Donald Westlake

Hugo Award winners

Isaac Asimov | Ray Bradbury

Lewis Thomas Prize for Writing about Science winner

Oliver Sacks

Literarian Award winners

Lawrence Ferlinghetti | Barney Rosset | Maya Angelou

Medal of Distinguished Contribution to American Letters winners

Judy Blume | Ray Bradbury | Joan Didion | Maxine Hong Kingston | James Laughlin | Elmore Leonard | Norman Mailer | Toni Morrison | Adrienne Rich | Studs Terkel | John Updike | Gore Vidal

National Book Award winners

John Barth | Kevin Boyle | James Carroll | James Dickey | Joan Didion | E. L. Doctorow | Richard Eberhart | Allen Ginsberg | John Irving | James Jones | Tracy Kidder | Maxine Hong Kingston | Jerzy Kosinski | Jonathan Kozol | Louis L'Amour | Barry Lopez | Paul Monette | Toni Morrison | Joyce Carol Oates | William L. Shirer | Susan Sontag | Robert Stone | William Styron | John Updike | Gore Vidal

National Book Critics Circle Award winners

E. L. Doctorow | Stanley Elkin | John C. Gardner | William Kennedy | Ian McEwan | Toni Morrison | Reynolds Price | Jane Smiley | John Updike

Nobel Prize winners

Gunter Grass | Doris Lessing | Toni Morrison

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction winners

T. Coraghessan Boyle | Michael Cunningham | E. L. Doctorow | John Updike | John Edgar Wideman | Richard Wiley | Tobias Wolff

Pulitzer Prize winners

Carl Bernstein | Robert Olen Butler | Michael Cunningham | Richard Eberhart | Oscar Hijuelos | William Kennedy | Tracy Kidder | Alison Lurie | Norman Mailer | Toni Morrison | Jane Smiley | Gary Snyder | Studs Terkel | John Updike

Rights Statement

Ohio University Libraries do not own the copyright to these items.

In Copyright