Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Theater

School of Dance, Film, and Theater
theater-head

 Shadow

Ohio University > Fine Arts > Theater > Academics > Graduate Programs > Graduate MA General Theater

Graduate MA General Theater

MA Degree Options in Theater

MA5138 - MA in General Theater

This is a one-year degree option (30 semester credit minimum) for students wishing to gain additional in-depth study in a particular area of theater. Programs of study are developed with the student's primary advisor and must be delineated at the start of coursework. Offering of programs in different areas of study varies from year to year based on projected course offerings. Please contact the following faculty members to inquire about the possibility of study for the next academic year.

Dramatic Writing – Charles Smith: Smithc4@ohio.edu 
Theater and Performance Studies – Angie Ahlgren: Ahlgren@ohio.edu
Sound Design and Technology – Lowell Jacobs: JacobsL@ohio.edu
Costume Design and Technology – Kjersten Lester-Moratzka: Lester-m@ohio.edu
Props and Costume Crafts – Tom Fiocchi: Fiocchi@ohio.edu
Technical Direction – Dan Denhart: Denhart@ohio.edu
Stage Management – Lara Wilder: WilderL@ohio.edu

 

MA5129 - MA in Theater History Literature and Criticism

This degree program is not enrolling for study in the 2013-14 academic year.

 

SAMPLE PROGRAM -- MA 5138 THEATER

30 CREDIT HOURS MINIMUM *

FALL

Theater and Performance Studies elective

3-4 credits

THAR 5010 Intro to Grad Studies

3 credits

Production Practicum

3 credits

Specialization course

3 credits

Specialization course

3 credits

Elective

2-3 credits

18 credits

SPRING

Theater and Performance Studies elective

3-4 credits

Exam/Thesis/Internship course

3 credits

Production Practicum

3 credits

Specialization course

3 credits

Specialization course

3 credits

Elective or additional Thesis coursework

2-3 credits

18 credits

*The degree minimum is 30 credits, however, a full load for funding purposes is considered to be 36 credits