Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
Make It Known
Bookmark and Share

Journalism’s Mary Rogus wins AEJMC’s Bliss Award

Jun 2, 2014

Journalism’s Mary Rogus wins AEJMCs Bliss Award

ATHENS, Ohio (June 2, 2014)—Associate Professor Mary Rogus of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University has been named the recipient of the 2014 Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education. The award is presented annually by the Electronic News Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication to recognize significant and lasting contributions to the field in the areas of teaching, scholarship and service.

Professor Rogus teaches in the areas of electronic journalism and media ethics. She was named the Ohio University Presidential Teacher from 2006-2009. She is also the advisor for the student chapter of the Radio-Television Digital News Association at OHIO. 

In her letter of nomination, Nancy McKenzie Dupont wrote, “Mary has cleared every hurdle a broadcast educator aspires to. But the number of times she has exceeded expectations is impressive.” Rogus served as the Division Head of the Electronic News Division of AEJMC and chaired the 2006 and 2008 national conventions for the Broadcast Education Association (BEA), both times under extraordinary circumstances. In 2006 she took over organizing the BEA 2006 convention after the staff had been let go just two months before the convention was set to begin; in January 2008 the current chair resigned and Rogus stepped in to fulfill those duties. 

Rogus was elected to the Board of Directors for BEA from 2011-2013 and she served as the RTDNA Education Liaison from 2008-2010. She regularly serves as a manuscript reviewer for academic conferences and publications. She developed and leads the broadcast track for the Scripps High School Journalism Workshop, and is a judge for the Emmys, the RTDNA Murrow Awards, and the National Federation of Press Women, among others. She is on the education advisory boards for AVID Technologies and The Washington Center, and frequently serves as an invited panelist at national and international conferences. She served on the editorial board for Electronic News, the journal of the Electronic News Division. 

Rogus is co-author, along with B, William Silcock and Don Heider, of Managing Television News: A Handbook for Ethical and Effective Producing (2006). Her research won the Best Paper Award in the News Division at the Broadcast Education Association for the last two years. She produced a series of town hall meetings on local tied into the PBS series Local News in 2001, and two hour-long documentaries (Test Scores, Tough Mandates and Tight Budgets and 911-$$$ Emergency) which aired on WOUB-TV in 2003 and 2004, respectively. 

In his letter of support, Bob Stewart, director of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism, wrote, “Mary is, without a doubt, the hardest working faculty member in a school of hard working faculty members. Her commitment to students and to excellence is unparalleled.” 

Rogus received her MBA from the University of Kentucky in 1986 and her B.S. in Communications form Ithaca College in 1981. Prior to joining the faculty at Ohio University in 1999, she spent 17 years in television news, working first as a Producer and later Executive Producer in markets ranging from Roanoke, VA, to Lexington, KY, to Pittsburgh, PA. 

Rogus becomes the second woman to win the Bliss Award; Joan Konner of Columbia University, the only other female recipient, won in 1995. 

The distinguished broadcast journalism educator award is named for Edward L. Bliss, a long-time writer, producer and editor for CBS News. Bliss was known for his work with Edward R.  Murrow and Walter Cronkite and ended his career as an educator at American University, which now houses the plaques bearing the award winners’ names.

The award will be presented to Rogus at the Electronic News division meeting and social at the 2014 AEJMC National Convention in Montreal, Quebec, on Aug. 7.