The Martin Luther King Celebration Committee is composed of Ohio University (OHIO) faculty, staff, students and community members throughout Athens, OH. Annually, these groups come together and organize our community's largest tribute to the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.



To honor the life and legacy of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., with an inclusive OHIO and Athens community tribute that highlights equality and social justice issues. We honor Dr. King for his work toward racial equality and justice for all people and for his dedication to nonviolence.


Schedule of Events

The 2015-16 Martin Luther King­ Jr. ­Celebration will officially begin on Saturday, January 16th.

Click here for the complete 2015-2016 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration schedule of events.

MLK 2016


2015-16 Martin Luther King­ Jr. ­Celebration Committee Members



Tyrone Carr
Special Assistant to the Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion


Committee Members

Alicia Chavira Prado
Special Assistant to the Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion

Thomas Costello
Visiting Assistant Professor

Haley Duschinski
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Barbara Harrison
Assistant Director, Off Campus Living

Bayyinah Jeffries
Assistant Professor of African-American Studies

George Mauzy
Communications Specialist II, University News

Robert Pleasant
Director Of Enrollment And Student Services

Ebony Porter
Student Success Advisor

John Schmieding
Athens, OH Community Member
Chair, Athens Community Relations Commission
Director, Athens Area Mediation Services

Melissa Wales
Executive Director, United Campus Ministry
Instructor, Women and Gender Studies

Rev. Evan Young
Campus Minister, United Campus Ministry

Interested in serving on the 2016-17 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebratory Committee?
Contact Amanda Howery by phone at (740) 593-2617 or by E-mail at