Search within:

Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta, the International Honor Society for English majors, was founded in May 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan College in Mitchell, South Dakota, by Professor Judson Q. Owen. Its central purpose is to confer distinction upon outstanding students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. All English majors and minors, pre-law, pre-theology, and integrated language arts majors are able to participate in this honor society.

Through the work of chapters on the campuses of more than 500 colleges and universities, Sigma Tau Delta provides exceptional students with opportunities for advancing the study of language and literature, for developing skills in creative and analytical writing, and for meeting other scholars and professionals in the discipline of English.

Members also participate in a number of social functions, such as an annual faculty dinner and a senior sendoff celebration. Sigma Tau Delta sponsors opportunities for students to learn more about the English department and career options through faculty panel discussions as well as job and graduate school panel discussions.

Members of Sigma Tau Delta also have the opportunity to publish their writing in the organization's literary publication, The Rectangle, and student members are eligible to compete for a number of writing awards. In addition, student members may receive international recognition through academic scholarships, professional internships, and teaching awards. At regional conferences and at the annual international convention, students may present original creative and analytical work and network with students, faculty, and professionals from around the country and abroad.

Membership Requirements

Membership requirements include completion of at least five quarters of college enrollment, completion of at least two English courses beyond freshman requirements, and a GPA in English courses of 3.0 or better. Informational meetings and membership rush are held in the fall (early October) and spring (early April).


President: Alex Carolla
Vice President & Treasurer: Emily Gaydos
Activities Officers: Abby Hahn, Alicia Fravel, Cecilia Ellis
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Tom Scanlan