Celebrate Women Awards

Outstanding Student Leader Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2024 Outstanding Student Leader awards! These Ohio University undergraduate students will be recognized at the Celebrate Women Conference on Friday, March 22.  Past recipients have commented on how honored they were to find out that OHIO staff and faculty had taken the time to acknowledge their efforts.  

The 2024 recipients include:
  • Megan Handle (Athens Campus)
  • Sarah Mullins (Lancaster Campus)
  • Alyssa Manning (Athens Campus)
  • Skye Holtel (Lancaster Campus)
  • Sarah Jackson (Lancaster Campus)
  • Aanya Datta (Athens Campus)

Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award Nominations

Jane Johnson

The Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award was established in 2013 to honor a member of the Ohio University or Fairfield County communities who has made significant contributions in the advocacy and awareness of women’s issues.  During her 25 years as assistant professor of Education at Ohio University Lancaster, Dr. Jane Johnsen was an advocate of diversity and women’s issues, creating the Women in Technology and Science program and challenging and mentoring students as they worked to fulfill their academic goals. 

Criteria for eligible nominees includes:

  • Member of the Ohio University or Fairfield County communities; and
  • Demonstrated commitment to advocating and promoting women’s issues  

A letter of nomination must be submitted for consideration.  Additional supporting materials (e.g., letters of support, examples of work) may also be provided.  The Honoree will be announced at the 2024 Celebrate Women Luncheon on Friday, March 22, 2024.  

Please click on the link below to upload your letter of nomination highlighting the nominee’s contributions and any supporting materials. 

Deadline for nominations is 6:00 pm on WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 21ST


For questions about the nomination process, please contact Dr. Candice Thomas-Maddox at thomas@ohio.edu.