Barbara J. Woods Betz Memorial Scholarship

Established in the memory of Barbara J. Woods Betz, who received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree from Ohio University in 1977, and served as the associate director of nursing at Holzer Medical Center until her death on Nov. 25, 1979. For students pursuing a B.S.N. who show outstanding academic achievement and need. Priority given to students who are nursing alumni of the Holzer School of Nursing and to nurses employed at the Holzer Medical Center.

Jeanne deLeur Beck Scholarship

Charles W. Beck, Jr. established this endowed scholarship in honor of his mother, Jeanne deLeur Beck, whose childhood dream was to become a nurse, and to help others achieve that dream. The award is presented to nursing students in the baccalaureate program in nursing.

Maxine Marquand Erskine Scholarship in Nursing

This scholarship is given in honor of Maxine Marquand Erskine, who served the University from 1948 to 1978 as a nurse in the Hudson Health Center. Helping to foster the development of nursing students in the region, this award is presented to a student in the baccalaureate program in nursing. First preference is given to residents of Athens County, second to Coshocton County residents and third to any resident of an Appalachian county.

Lillian Holgate McCracken Memorial Scholarship

Developed in memory of Lillian Holgate McCracken, wife of Tom McCracken, former dean of Ohio University's College of Education. It was her desire to see professional nursing advanced in southeastern Ohio. Given to students who show academic achievement, with priority to students who are residents of Athens County.

Clay Family Memorial Nursing Scholarship

Established by the Clay family, this endowed scholarship is presented to students admitted to the associate degree programs in practical or registered nursing or to the baccalaureate degree program in nursing. Preference in awarding scholarships is given to those from Harrison, Guernsey, Tuscarawas and Belmont Counties in Ohio.

Janice Brown Steele Scholarship

Recipients must be attending Ohio University and participating in the College of Health Science and Professions School of Nursing RN to BSN program with a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average. Student must demonstrate need per results of FAFSA. Must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. Additionally, student must be a single parent or child of a single parent. Preference is given first to residents of Ross County; second, to a student from one of the Appalachian counties; and finally third, to any student from Ohio.

J. Stephen and Carla G. Phillips Scholarship

Recipients must be enrolled in the Ohio University RN to BSN program in the School of Nursing. Students must be U.S. citizens and have a minimum 3.0 grade point average.

Dr. Jerry Mann and Mrs. Sue Johnson Mann Endowment for Nursing

Established by Dr. Jerry Mann BS '61 and Mrs. Sue Johnson Mann to provide scholarships to full-time students who demonstrate both financial need and academic merit. The Mann's grew up in Scioto County, Ohio and have worked and resided in more than five countries during their own careers in health care. In creating the scholarship, the Mann's are demonstrating their belief that career in the health professions, and especially nursing, are vital to the future. 

COLLEGE-WIDE SCHOLARSHIPS (not nursing specific)

For further information on the scholarship opportunities listed above, please contact the Ohio University College of Health Sciences and Professions Student Services office at 740.593.9336.

For information on other scholarships and financial aid programs available through Ohio University, please visit the Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.