Calendar of Events

 Spring 2015 Calendar

All events are held in the Women's Center unless otherwise stated.

Thurs, Jan. 15, 12-1pm

Women's Center Open House

Thurs, Jan. 22, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Sherri Saines, MLS, Resource and Instruction Librarian, Alden Library, “The Feminism of Information: Where are the Other Voices?”

Mon, Jan. 26, 7pm

“United in Anger: A History of ACT-UP”
Screening with Sarah Schulman and Jim Hubbard (Athena Cinema)

Tues, Jan 27,

TIME CHANGED NOW 11am

“The Gentrification of the Mind”
Reading with Sarah Schulman

Wed. Jan. 28, 4-6pm

Queer Women in Film Series

The Lost Tribe

Thurs, Jan. 29, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

OUSAP & OUPD, "Stalking. Know it. Name it. Stop it"

Wed, Feb. 4, 4-6pm

International Women’s Coffee Hour (students, faculty, staff, and community members of all nationalities are welcome)

Thurs, Feb. 5, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn
Judith Grant, Ph.D., Political Science, "I’m Not Bossy. I’m the Boss: Gender, Leadership and the Problem of 'The Glass Ceiling'"

 
Thurs, Feb. 12, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn
Vagina Monologues Cast

Thurs. Feb, 12, 4-6pm

Writing through Jane Crow: Race and Gender Politics in African American Literature

Book Party with Dr. Ayesha Hardison

Fri, Feb. 13, 12-1pm

One Billion Rising Flash Mob
(Baker 4th Floor Atrium)

Fri. & Sat, Feb. 13&14, 7-9pm

Vagina Monologues
(Seigfred 519)

Sun, Feb. 15, 1-3pm

Vagina Monologues
Baker Theater

Wed, Feb 18, 4-6pm

Queer Women in Film Series

Keep Not Silent

Thurs, Feb. 19, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn
Jody Markley, Director of Multicultural Experiences
Russ College, Ohio University

"Women in STEM – Challenges and Opportunities"

Wed, Feb. 25,

6pm

Celebrating Women: Leaders On and Off the Court

Reception at 6 in the Rwar Room, game starts at 7. (Convocation Center)

Thurs, Feb. 26, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn
Julia Miller

"Women, Location and Moralization: Causes, Policy and Attitudes Surrounding Women Who Drop Out of High School"

Wed, March 11, 4-6pm

International Women’s Coffee Hour
(all nationalities are welcome)

Thurs, March 12, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Lorna Jean Edmonds, Ph.D., “OHIO in the Universe: Today's Global Strategy”

Sun, March 15, 2-6pm

International Women’s Day (Baker Ballroom)

Wed, March 18, 4-6pm

Queer Women in Film Series
Dreams Deferred: The Sakia Gunn Film Project
Thurs, March 19, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Daniel Skinner, Ph.D., “Entrenchment or Reform?:  An Assessment of the Feminist Implications of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act"

Thurs, March 19, 6pm

An Evening of Queertastic Laughs with Erin Foley

(Baker Theater)

Wed, March 25, 12-1pm

Special Wednesday Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Eve Ng, Ph.D., “LGBTQ Theatre and Digital Media in Singapore & Malaysia”

Wed, March 25, 4-6pm

"Pauline Frederick Reporting: A Pioneering Broadcaster Covers the Cold War"


Book party with author, Marilyn Greenwald, Professor of Journalism, Ohio University

Thurs, March 26, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Anne Cooper-Chen, Ph.D., “Dead Women Walking: U.S. Executions of Females”

Wed, April 1, 4-6pm

International Women’s Coffee Hour
(all nationalities are welcome)

Thurs, April 2, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Take Back the Night Preview

Sun, April 5, 7:15pm

“Foxy Merkins” Screening
with writer/director Madeleine Olnek
Mon, April 6, 11:50am

“Madeleine Olnek on Her Career in Film and Theater”
(Baker Theater, Kantner Hall)

Mon, April 6, 3-5pm

“Writing Queer Lives for Stage and Screen”
Workshop w/ Madeleine Olnek

Wed, April 8, 12-2pm

Women & Girls in S.T.E.M.
A Special 2-Hour Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Jody Markley, M.Ed., “Women in STEM—Challenges and Opportunities”

Melanie Schori, Ph.D., “Tech Savvy Ohio—AAUW’s STEM Outreach Program for Girls in Grades 6-9 in Southeast Ohio”

Thurs, April 9, 12-1pm

Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Queer Studies Conference,
“Rainbow Intersectionality: Coming Out at the Crossroads of Identities”

April 13- April 17

Take Back the Night Week

Tues, April 14

Equal Pay Day

Wed, April 15, 12pm

 

Wednesday Brown Bag Lunch and Learn
Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development

Wed, April 15, 4-6pm

Queer Women in Film Series

Off and Running

Thurs, April 16, 12-1pm Brown Bag Lunch and Learn
Wed, April 22

A Celebration of Women and Feminists in the Arts

Thurs, April 23, 12-1pm


Brown Bag Lunch and Learn

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Senior Showcase

Fri, April 24, 2-4pm

Ice Cream Social

Honoring Graduating Seniors and Friends of the Women's Center

 

ali liebegott

Author, Ali Liebegott (far left) visited OHIO March 31st - April 1st, 2014

 

Jaclyn Friedman 2014

Jaclyn Friedman visited OHIO (Feb. 2014)

 

IMG_1559

Janell Hobson during her visit to Ohio University in October 2013

 

Calendar Archives: 

 

Fall 2014 Calendar

 

Spring 2014 Calendar

 

Fall 2013 Calendar