photoshopmlk 640x210

2013-2014 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee

­

Description
The Martin Luther King Celebration Committee is composed of Ohio University (OHIO) faculty, staff, students and community members throughout Athens, OH. Annually, these groups come together and organize our community's largest tribute to the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Mission
To honor the life and legacy of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., with an inclusive OHIO and Athens community tribute that highlights equality and social justice issues. We honor Dr. King for his work toward racial equality and justice for all people and for his dedication to nonviolence.

Theme
Great work to members of the 2013-14 MLK Jr. Celebration Committee for selecting a theme that encompassed the many contributions of Dr. King, including social justice, equality, freedom and service - OHIO's Legacy: Living the Dream.

2013-14 Martin Luther King­Jr.­Celebration Committee Members


Faculty Co-Chair
Lisa Harrison, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Teacher Education
harrisl1@ohio.edu

Staff Co-Chair
Joan Zelaya
Assistant Director and Coordinator, Tutoring Services
zelaya@ohio.edu

Committee Members
Lauren Ashman
Associate Athletic Director, Compliance
ashman@ohio.edu

Kimberly Blue
Associate Director, Career and Leadership Development, Employer Relations
bluek@ohio.edu

Samantha Caulfield
OHIO Undergraduate Student
University Program Council
sc221309@ohio.edu)

Barbara Harrison
Assistant Director, Off Campus Living, Residence Life
harrisob@ohio.edu

George Mauzy
Communications Specialist III, University Communications and Marketing
mauzy@ohio.edu

Cimmeron O’Conner
Assistant Director, Orientation Programs
taylorc2@ohio.edu

Robert Pleasant
OHIO Southern Campus, Director of Enrollment and Student Services
pleasanr@ohio.edu

Ebony Porter
OHIO Graduate Student
Recruitment Services, College of Business
portere@ohio.edu

Allison Ragland
OHIO Graduate Student
ar724609@ohio.edu

Thomas Raimondi
Coordinator of Leadership and Scholar Development
The Office for Multicultural Student Access and Retention
raimondi@ohio.edu

Stephanie Sanders, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Diversity and Inclusion
sanders1@ohio.edu

John Schmieding
Athens, OH Community Member
Chair, Athens Community Relations Commission
Director, Athens Area Mediation Services
john_45701@yahoo.com

Debra Thompson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Political Science
thompsd3@ohio.edu

Melissa Wales
Executive Director, United Campus Ministry
Instructor, Women and Gender Studies
wales@ohio.edu

Rev. Evan Young
Campus Minister, United Campus Ministry
evan@ucmathens.org

For full coverage on the 2013-14­ MLK Jr. celebratory events visit:
Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration is Jan, 20-25
http://www.ohio.edu/compass/stories/13-14/1/mlk-week-2014.cfm

Martin Luther King Jr's­legacy honored at silent march, celebratory brunch
http://www.ohio.edu/compass/stories/13-14/1/mlk-silent-march-brunch.cfm

Tribute to Martin Luther King Jr.
http://www.library.ohiou.edu/2014/01/tribute-to-martin-luther-king-jr/

"Living the dream": Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Kicks Off Monday
http://www.library.ohiou.edu/2014/01/tribute-to-martin-luther-king-jr/

OU Hosts Weeklong Celebration of Martin Luther King Jr.
http://woub.org/2014/01/16/ou-hosts-weeklong-celebration-martin-luther-king-jr­

Interested in serving on the 2014-15 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebratory Committee? Contact­
Stephanie Sanders
Assistant Director, Diversity and Inclusion
(740) 593-0006
sanders1@ohio.edu

­