photoshopmlk 640x210

2014-2015 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee

 
Description

The Martin Luther King Celebration Committee is composed of Ohio University (OHIO) faculty, staff, students and community members throughout Athens, OH. Annually, these groups come together and organize our community's largest tribute to the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Mission

To honor the life and legacy of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., with an inclusive OHIO and Athens community tribute that highlights equality and social justice issues. We honor Dr. King for his work toward racial equality and justice for all people and for his dedication to nonviolence.

Theme

The 2014-15 Ohio University Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration will carry the theme, "Celebrating the Life and Legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr." with much of the focus surrounding King's service and legacy.

Schedule of Events

The 2014-15 Martin Luther King­ Jr. ­Celebration will officially begin on Thursday, January 15th with the annual Faith Leaders Breakfast.

Click here for the complete 2014-2015 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration schedule of events.

 

 

2014-15 Martin Luther King­ Jr. ­Celebration Committee Members

 

Chair

Tyrone Carr
Special Assistant to the Vice Provost Diversity, Access, Equity
carrt@ohio.edu

Committee Members

Shari Clarke
Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion
clarkes@ohio.edu

Tomas Costello
Visiting Assistant Professor
costelt1@ohio.edu

Barbara Harrison
Assistant Director, Off Campus Living
harrisob@ohio.edu

Amanda Howery
Administrative Services Associate
howerya@ohio.edu

Bayyinah Jeffries
Assistant Professor of African-American Studies
jeffrieb@ohio.edu

George Mauzy
Communications Specialist Iii, University News
mauzy@ohio.edu

Nikki Ohms
Assistant Director, Conference Services
ohms@ohio.edu

Robert Pleasant
Director Of Enrollment And Student Services
pleasanr@ohio.edu

Ebony Porter
Student Success Advisor
portere@ohio.edu

John Schmieding
Athens, OH Community Member
Chair, Athens Community Relations Commission
Director, Athens Area Mediation Services
john_45701@yahoo.com

Melissa Wales
Executive Director, United Campus Ministry
Instructor, Women and Gender Studies
wales@ohio.edu

Rev. Evan Young
Campus Minister, United Campus Ministry
evan@ucmathens.org

 
Interested in serving on the 2014-15 Martin Luther King Jr. Celebratory Committee?
Contact Amanda Howery by phone at (740) 593-2617 or by E-mail at howerya@ohio.edu

­