Ohio University Police Department Banner with Department Seal

About Ohio University Police Department

The Ohio University Police Department is a full-service police agency that derives its authority from Ohio Revised Code Section 3345.04. We are responsible for the enforcement of criminal laws, all criminal investigations occurring on campus, and issuing a timely warning of crimes that pose a threat to students and employees.

We currently have 31 sworn police officers, five communications officers, and two clerical support staff members. We operate 24 hours a day, every day of the year. A commitment of total service to the culturally diverse community we serve is evidenced in the programs we present and the training we provide.

Our primary jurisdiction is the campus of Ohio University and property owned by Ohio University. We have mutual aid agreements with the City of Athens and the Athens County Sheriff's Office. We also work closely with the Ohio State Highway Patrol as well as other state and federal law enforcement agencies.

Students, faculty and staff are strongly encouraged to report violations of criminal law and incidents of criminal conduct to the Ohio University Police Department.

Employment Opportunities

An annual Eligibility List is created to fill approved Police Officer I vacancies. More information is available by clicking here to visit our recruitment page.