Search within:

Political Science Scholarships & Financial Aid

Scholarships and Awards

A number of scholarships and awards are available to undergraduate and graduate students in political science. Students should apply through the Ohio University Office of Financial Aid.

Sara Katherine Ullman Memorial Internship Award

This memorial scholarship helps support a student on a summer internship with Amnesty International in Washington, D.C. It is awarded by the department's Ullman Internship Committee on the basis of the applicant's academic record, commitment to human rights and an interest in international affairs. It was established in 1986 by the family of the late Sara Ullman, who was a student at Ohio University at the time of her death. The award reflects her interest in the cause of global human rights.

Karen D. Jenkins King Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to the student winner in an essay contest that deals with U.S. foreign policy. It was created by Judge Rufus King in memory of his wife, Karen. After graduating from Ohio University in 1963, Karen King entered the Foreign Service in 1966. She built a distinguished career that included working as an administrative officer in the White House on Henry Kissinger's staff, as an administrative officer at NATO, and as associate director of the State Department's Office of Management Policy.

Ernest M. and Osie T. Collins Endowed Scholarship

This endowed scholarship was designated by Professor Ernest Collins and Osie Collins for an outstanding Political Science major to be used during his or her senior year. The scholarship was created in 1984 following Professor Collins' retirement after 38 years at Ohio University.

Rev. Robert E. Crawford and Son (Douglas E.) Memorial Scholarship

This memorial scholarship is for an outstanding Political Science major to be used during his or her junior year. It was established by Edith C. Crawford in 1994 in memory of her husband, the Rev. Dr. Robert E. Crawford '43, and her son Douglas.

Lillian Ramos Award

This scholarship is awarded to the outstanding African American Political Science major. Lillian Ramos was an attorney who taught in the department during the 1969-70 academic year. This award is funded by contributions from faculty, colleagues, and students.

Alan Aichinger Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a Political Science Honors Tutorial student who has compiled an outstanding academic record. It was created in 1980 by departmental colleagues, friends, and family of Professor Alan Aichinger, who taught in the department's Honors Tutorial program and was the program's first director.

Outstanding Graduating Senior Award

This award is given to the graduating Political Science major with the highest grade point average and the recommendation of his or her professors.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

This award is given to the student who has made the greatest contribution in the teaching of undergraduate courses. The College of Arts & Sciences also recognizes this student with an award.

Outstanding Intern Award

This award is given to the student who has been the most successful intern, according to the Internship Director, the Internship Sponsor, and the Awards Committee.

Outstanding Master of Arts Award

This award is given to the outstanding candidate for the M.A. degree in Political Science. It is based on the student's GPA and recommendation of the graduate committee.