Russ College students honored for leadership, accomplishments at Tau Beta Pi virtual award ceremony

Published: April 21, 2020 Author: Staff reports

Ohio University’s student chapter of engineering honorary society Tau Beta Pi hosted the Russ College of Engineering and Technology’s first-ever virtual event via YouTube on Saturday evening to commend students on their academics, leadership and other achievements.

When the university began remote instruction in response to the COVID-19 crisis and the annual spring student awards banquet had to be cancelled, the executive board of the OHIO Delta chapter jumped on planning a virtual ceremony to honor the 2020 recipients. They created a video with the help of faculty announcers and hosted a live YouTube screening. The video began with remarks from incoming Tau Beta Pi President Alex Polacek and Russ College Dean Mei Wei.

“Heading into spring break, none of us could have anticipated what life and college studies would actually be like today,” Wei said. “I commend you for your flexibility and resilience during these times – and I hope you know that our faculty and leadership across the college have a great deal of compassion for all the changes you’re weathering.”

Top honors went to civil engineering senior Lydia Ramlo, who received both the Loehr Outstanding Senior Leader Award and the Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Senior Award. For the Tau Beta Pi Oustanding Senior Award, Aviation nominated Neil Bateman; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering nominated Lukas Johansson; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science nominated Dylan Wright; Engineering Technology and Management nominated Allie J. Gabbard; Industrial and Systems Engineering nominated Matthew Grebinoski; and Mechanical Engineering nominated Cole Neuhart.

"It speaks volumes that Tau Beta Pi and Russ College still held the awards ceremony to honor our outstanding engineering Bobcats,” said Ramlo, an undergraduate research scholar and Engineering Ambassador who is also president of Ohio University Student Senate. “I am so grateful for the dedication that Ohio University has for its students throughout my years here. I am extremely honored to receive these awards; it still leaves me speechless. I wish I could thank my professors and fellow student leaders in person, and hopefully, one day that can happen!"

For the Department of Aviation, the Outstanding Junior Award went to Brady Taylor, and the Outstanding Senior Award went to Neil Bateman.

In the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, the Outstanding Sophomore Award went to Adam Stasko. Two students, Annmarie Hoppel and Luke Hamlin, were awarded the Keith M. Russ Award for Outstanding Juniors. The Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Outstanding Senior Award went to Mahmoud Ramadan, and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AICHE) Outstanding Senior Award went to Charlotte Kapral. The G.E. Smith and G.V. Smith Memorial Engineering Award went to Raziyeh Ghahremani. The Robe Leadership Award was bestowed upon Lydia Seiter.

For the Department of Civil Engineering, the Junior Academic Achievement Award went to Ryan Pfab, and the Senior Academic Achievement Award went to Justin Bradley. The Outstanding Senior Award and Outstanding Senior Leader Award were bestowed upon Lydia Ramlo.

In the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, the Outstanding Junior in Computer Engineering Award went to Wyatt Smith, the Outstanding Junior in Computer Science Award went to Kirk Saunders, and the Outstanding Junior in Electrical Engineering Award went to Andrew Moffett. The Outstanding Senior in Computer Engineering Award was bestowed upon Aidan Crowl, the Outstanding Senior in Computer Science Award went to Jordan Ball and the Outstanding Senior in Electrical Engineering Award went to Alexis Lanier. The G.E. Smith and G.V. Smith Memorial Award was awarded to Alex Bagnall.

For the Department of Engineering Technology and Management, Outstanding Senior Leader was bestowed upon Cole Stephan. The Jack and Marsha Myslenski Academic Excellence Award went to Erin R. Dietz. Both the F. Theodore Paige Outstanding Graduating Senior Award and Albert R. Squibb Service to the Department Award were awarded to Allie J. Gabbard.

In the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Dr. Helmut Zwahlen Award for Outstanding Student Achievement in Computer Simulation went to Hope Bowden. The Outstanding Junior Award went to Andrew Lakocy and the Outstanding Senior Award went to Matthew Grebinoski.

For the Department of Mechanical Engineering, the Outstanding Senior Leader Award went to Rachel Modzelewski and the Outstanding Senior Researcher Award went to Logan Gutknecht. The Mechanical Engineering Special Recognition Award went to Sean Kilbane, Kay Dunlevy, Cuyler Mills, Anna Kelley, Patrick Habermehl and Margaret Allen. The Outstanding Senior Award went to Cole Neuhart.

Director of Professional Experiences Dean Pidcock presented Outstanding Co-Op Awards to Erik Withrow for his work with Chemours; Tyler Williams for his work with Imperial Electric and Alcon; Joel Compston for his work with Kraton Polymers; and Logan Veley for his work with Rogue Fitness.

View a list of all recipients in the digital program, and check out departmental awards by clicking the timestamps in the YouTube description.