Seven scholarships are available to students majoring in programs housed in the Department of Social and Public Health:

Dr. Franklin B. Carver Environmental Health Sciences Scholarship
This scholarship was established by Dr. Franklin B. Carver, the first coordinator of the Environmental Health Sciences program. He was responsible for the program's development into one of the few nationally accredited environmental health curriculums in the nation. The recipient must be a sophomore, and first preference should be given to a minority student.

Carl D. Chambers Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship honors the first director of the health administration program areas. It is for graduate students only and requires at least a 3.2 undergraduate GPA. It is based primarily upon academic merit and professional achievement. FAFSA is not required.

Dr. Clifford Houk Central Ohio American Industrial Hygiene Scholarship
This scholarship is provided to an Occupational Hygiene and Safety major to honor retired professor Clifford Houk, who founded the program at Ohio University. The recipient is selected on the basis of academic merit, financial need and demonstrated involvement in extracurricular activities and volunteer service organizations.

Lancia Family Scholarship
This scholarship honors the Lancia family, one of the leading family providers of quality long-term health care services throughout Ohio and the region. It is for graduate students only, and no specific requirements are noted. FAFSA is not required. The scholarship award decision rests with program faculty.

Charlotte LaTourrette Health Education Scholarship
This scholarship is established through the estate of Charlotte LaTourrette, professor emerita of the School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, who retired in 1971 after 41 years of service to Ohio University. The recipient of this scholarship must be an upper class student majoring in Community Health Services. Selection is based on financial need, academic ability, character, citizenship and leadership qualities.

Franklin B. Stevens Scholarship
This scholarship honors Franklin B. Stevens, a nationally prominent health care consultant, and former alumni of Ohio University. It is for either undergraduate or graduate students in health administration or long-term care administration, and requires a cumulative 3.0 GPA. U.S. citizens or permanent residents only, and preference will be given to students from the state of Ohio.

Helen Brown Miller Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Established in memory of Helen Brown Miller, a home economics education alumna, to recognize an undergraduate student majoring in child and family studies who is a resident of the geographical area that was represented by her husband, the Honorable Representative Clarence E. Miller during his tenure in Congress. Financial aid must be demonstrated. 

Joan Jurich Scholarship for Excellence in Engaged Learning
The Joan Jurich Scholarship for Excellence in Engaged Learning will provide awards to students who have demonstrated academic excellence and displayed financial need. Preference is for a student enrolled in the child and family studies major.