42.120: Campus Moving Services




October 19, 2007

Initiated by:

Kim Wortman | Director of Campus Services

Endorsed by:

Kathy Krendl | Executive Vice President and Provost

Approved by:

Roderick J. McDavis | President

Signatures and dates on archival copy
  1. Purpose

    This policy establishes guidelines for moving services to ensure that campus moves are conducted so as:

    1. to be timely;

    2. to minimize the risk of damage or destruction of University buildings or property;

    3. to reduce the downtime and inconvenience to staff being moved; and,

    4. to reduce overall University moving expenses.

  2. Plan

    The Campus Services Department is responsible for moving University property within and between all University buildings and campuses. University moves must be initiated and coordinated by the Moving Department of Campus Services. This includes the procurement of moving services by in-house forces or by contract with external sources. Functions covered by this policy include:

    1. moving of office furniture within a building;

    2. relocating entire offices or departments;

    3. table, stage, or chair rental, and campus delivery of same.

  3. Policies and Procedures

    Departments having a need for moving services must contact the Moving Department. Work requests should be made as far in advance as possible, because services will be provided on a first-come, first-service basis. However, every attempt will be made to accommodate needed schedules. Departments requesting these services will provide a University account number that will be debited with a pre-approved charge. A schedule of standard charges and an estimate of the charges for specific requested services will be available upon request through the Moving Department.


Proposed revisions of this policy should be reviewed by:

  1. President

  2. Executive Vice President and Provost

  3. Executive Staff

  4. Director of Property Management and Moving Services

  5. Planning Unit Heads

  6. Policy and Procedure Review Committee