Scripps students earn top awards at national journalism convention

October 4, 2023 The Ohio University chapter of The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) earned a top honor this September in Las Vegas, bringing home the SPJ’s Campus Program of the Year Award.

Campus Beauty Image 4

OHIO alum at major creative firm encourages students to utilize Bobcat connections

March 15, 2023 Madison Sury, BSJ ’19, MBA ’20, moved across the country after graduation. Now, she's working as a media and comms planner at Wieden + Kennedy, focusing on the Nike brand.

Institute for International Journalism to use grant to boost local media in South Africa

November 8, 2022 OHIO’s Institute for International Journalism is partnering with the Association of Independent Publishers in South Africa on a one-year effort to develop strategies for sustainable local news media.

High School Journalism Workshop returns to campus, opens doors for young aspiring media members

July 20, 2022 Ohio University’s E.W. Scripps School of Journalism brought together an outstanding group of instructors to teach and mentor eager high school students about media.

WOUB Student Staff Support Fund helps senior student focus on gaining real-world media experience

March 28, 2022 For the last three and a half years, Nick Viland, who is a senior from Atlanta, Georgia, has tried to balance his time between classes at Ohio University, volunteering in the WOUB newsroom and his pai

HTC journalism students work to share information in four Ohio communities

December 8, 2021 OHIO's Honors Tutorial College journalism students mapped, designed and sent to area libraries information as to where to find food, accessible Internet, and reasonable transportation.

Senior journalism major lands national leadership position in student organization

October 28, 2021 Senior journalism major Alyssa Gormley knows what she wants: to work in an advertising agency and do public relations, just like she did over the summer at the Marcus Thomas agency in Cleveland.

OHIO’s Scripps PRSSA Wins Outstanding Chapter Award

October 20, 2021 Scripps PRSSA was recognized as the gold standard of all PRSSA chapters by being awarded the 2021 Dr. F.H. Teahan Award for Outstanding Chapter during the 2021 PRSSA Virtual International Conference.

ABC journalist John Quiñones to receive Carr Van Anda Award

October 6, 2021 Veteran broadcast journalist John Quiñones will receive the Carr Van Anda Award for his nearly 40 years as a journalist and anchor for ABC News during OHIO’s Carr Van Anda Symposium on Oct. 19.

Carr Van Anda Symposium to honor legendary New York Times managing editor

October 6, 2021 The E.W. Scripps School of Journalism is honoring former physics and mathematics student, Carr Van Anda, by hosting the Carr Van Anda Symposium on campus Oct. 19.

OHIO alumna among 21 distinguished science journalists selected for Knight fellowship at MIT

October 1, 2021 Emily Mullin is an award-winning science journalist – and one of only 21 of her distinguished peers selected as this year’s Knight Science Journalism Project Fellows at MIT.

Ohio University Society of Professional Journalists chapter racks up two more national honors

September 8, 2021 The Ohio University chapter of Society of Professional Journalists continued its history-making run this weekend by receiving the national Outstanding Campus Chapter award for the ninth time.

Graduate student receives $10,000 scholarship

July 30, 2021 A graduate student studying journalism has been selected for the Native American Journalists Association’s (NAJA) $10,000 Facebook Journalism Project Scholarship. 

Scripps student receives national journalism award

June 28, 2021 A rising senior in Ohio University E.W. Scripps School of Journalism received a Mark of Excellence award for a story he wrote about video game accessibility.

Ohio University graduate student Sarah Liese named Sundance Institute Fellow

May 25, 2021 Ohio University master’s student Sarah Liese was one of three people named as a Full Circle Fellow by the Sundance Institute to participate in their Directors and Screenwriters Labs and Native Lab.