Ohio University

Search within:

2022 Distinguished Professor Award nominations process announcement

Published: November 12, 2021 Author: Staff reports

The Office of the President and the Ohio University Distinguished Professors are accepting nominations for the 2022 Distinguished Professor Award now through Tuesday, February 15, 2022.

Nominations may be submitted by any current Ohio University faculty member within any OHIO department, school or academic discipline. A letter of nomination outlining the case for the candidate should be submitted and accompanied by up to 10 supporting letters from leading external experts in the candidate’s field; additional relevant supporting material may be included as well.

For more information and useful tips about the nomination process, please see this video from Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy David Drabold.

In addition, Distinguished Professor of Playwriting Charles Smith and Distinguished Professor of Communication Studies Judith Yaross Lee will hold an information session for prospective candidates and nominators on Teams on Monday, December 13, from 10 to 11 a.m. The link to the information session will be posted on the Distinguished Professor Award website.

All nominations should be submitted directly to Dr. Steven W. Evans, chair of the nominations committee, at distinguishedprofessors@ohio.edu. Other members of the nominating committee include Distinguished Professors Charles Smith, Nancy Stevens and Srdjan Nesic.

All supporting materials should be delivered to Cutler Hall 108 accompanied by a list of items submitted. Materials suitable for review in electronic form should be provided on a jump drive in PDF or (for multimedia) other universal format; physical materials (e.g., books) requiring offline review should be clearly identified on the list. 

The Distinguished Professor Award recognizes outstanding scholarly and creative accomplishments. The award is the highest permanent recognition attainable by faculty at Ohio University. Recipients must have attained tenure and completed a minimum of five years of service at Ohio University. 

The award, first given in 1959, is supported by an endowment provided by Edwin and Ruth Kennedy to the Baker Fund.

Among the privileges granted to Distinguished Professors is the honor of annually naming an undergraduate student to receive a one-year, full-tuition scholarship, the lifetime designation title of Distinguished Professor, a one semester paid research leave, stipend and travel support.

The deadline for nominations is February 15, 2022. For additional details about the Distinguished Professor Award, please visit www.ohio.edu/distinguishedprofessor