Deadline extended: Nominations for Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award due March 31

Ohio University’s Graduate Student Senate is calling on all OHIO graduate students to submit nominations for the 2019 Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award.

Established in 1972, the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award recognizes an OHIO professor who has demonstrated exemplary performance as an instructor, researcher and faculty member. The award is bestowed annually with the recipient announced at the Graduate Commencement ceremony held each spring. 

Nominations are being accepted online by clicking here, and the deadline to submit a nomination is by the end of the day on Sunday, March 31. The previous deadline was March 29.

Any OHIO faculty member who has taught a graduate-level course, including online courses, during the 2018-19 academic year is eligible to be nominated, but graduate students are allowed only one nomination each.

Members of Graduate Student Senate’s Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award Committee will review the nominations and determine the winner, who will be announced in April. The faculty member who is selected for the 2019 Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award will receive a certificate and will have the honor of delivering the keynote speech at the Spring 2020 Graduate Commencement ceremony.

The 2018 Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award was presented to Michael Sweeney, a professor and editor of Journalism History, the oldest journal of mass media history in the United States. Dr. Sweeney was selected from more than 82 total submissions and 54 nominees. 

Dr. Sweeney’s students described him as a “knowledgeable, empathetic and inspiring faculty member” who goes out of his way to help students. Other students said Dr. Sweeney serves as a sounding board for ideas and provides education in the larger sense of the word, combining social and academic aspects.

For more information about Graduate Student Senate’s Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award program, visit the Graduate Student Senate website or email

OHIO’s Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award recipients

The following Ohio University faculty members hold the title of Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award recipients:

1973 – Warren Wistendahl, botany
1974 – Richard F. Whitman, interpersonal communication
1975 – Robert De Mott, English
1976 – Hugh Culbertson, journalism
1977 – Alan Booth, political science
1978 – Moid U Ahmad, geology 
1979 – Felix Gagliano, political science, international studies
1980 – Rajinder Koshal, economics
1981 – Shirley Slater, home economics
1982 - Drew McDaniel, R-TV director and professor
1983 - Mark L. Weinberg
1984 – David Heaton, English 
1985 - Eric A Wagner
1986 - Sue DeWine
1987 – Janis Holm, English
1988 – Dwight A. Pugh, finance
1989 – Drew McDaniel, telecommunications
1990 – Patrick Washburn, journalism
1991 – Gar W. Rothwell, environment and plant biology
1992 – Algis Mickunas, philosophy
1993 – Jenny L. Nelson, telecommunications
1994 – Irwin Ungar, environment and plant biology
1995 – Josep Rota, telecommunications
1996 – Gary Small, chemistry
1997 – Martin Schwartz, sociology and anthropology
1998 - No Award
1999 - Martin Schwartz
2000 - SK Jain, mathematics 
2001 - Claudia Hale  
2002 – Mary Beth Krouse, sociology
2003 – Douglas Bolon, social and public health
2004 - Morgan Vis-Chiasson 
2005 - Dan Modaff 
2006 - Chester J. Pach, Jr. 
2007 – Valerie Martin Conley, counseling and higher education
2008 - Julie Owens, Psychology
2009 – Patricia Ann Weitsman, political science
2010 - Lynn Harter, School of Communication Studies 
2011 – Greg Kessler, computer-assisted language learning 
2012 - Duane McDiarmid, College of Fine Arts 
2013 - J. Eungha Ryu, Political Science
2014 – Aimee Edmondson, journalism
2015 – Thomas Vander Ven, sociology 
2016 – Risa Whitson, geography and women’s, gender and sexuality studies
2017 – Devika Chawla, communication studies
2018 - Michael Sweeney, Journalism

March 27, 2019
Staff reports