Ohio University

skip to main content

Sanctioning Guidelines for Drug & Alcohol Offenses

Listed are the minimum sanctioning guidelines for alcohol, marijuana and other drug offences.

 

 

Alcohol Sanctioning Guidelines

 

For a first time D3a (unauthorized use or possession of alcoholic beverages, including underage possession or consumptionof alcohol) or D15 (Violation of Rules Regarding Dining Facilities and Residence Halls: Empty Alcohol Containers in an Underage Room) violation, a student should typically expect:

1.  6-9 months disciplinary probation 
2.  $100 fine and $100 fee (to cover the cost of a university based intervention program;
     a total of $200 will be billed to the student's account) 
3.  a university based intervention program 
4.  a minimum of 5 hours of community restitution
 
For a first time D3d (misconduct under the use of alcohol, including public intoxication), a student should typically expect:
1.  9-12 months disciplinary probation 
2.  $150 fine and $100 fee (to cover the cost of a university based intervention program;
     a total of $250 will be billed to the student's account) 
3.  a university based intervention program 
4.  a minimum of 10 hours of community restitution 
 
Please Note: First offenses of this behavior may result in probation, suspension or expulsion due to the severity of the behavior and/or the presence of aggravating circumstances associated with the alcohol consumption.  
 
A subsequent alcohol violation while on probation will likely result in:
1.  a minimum of one semester suspension 
2.  a $100 or $150 fine, depending on the severity of the offense (will be billed to the
     student's account) 
3.  an alcohol and/or drug assessment and compliance with any resulting recommendations
4.  a minimum of 20 hours of community restitution
5.  disciplinary probation for a minimum of one year upon return to Ohio University 

 

Marijuana Sanctioning Guidelines 

For a first time D4a (possession or use of marijuana) or a D4c (possession of drug paraphernalia)violation, a student should expect: 
1.  6-9 months disciplinary probation 
2.  $100 fine and $100 fee (to cover the cost of a university based intervention program;
     a total of $200 will be billed to the student's account) 
3.  a university based intervention program 
4.  a minimum of 5 hours of community restitution 
 
A subsequent marijuana violation while on probation will likely result in: 
1.  a minimum of one semester suspension 
2.  a $100 fine (will be billed to the student's account) 
3.  an alcohol and/or drug assessment and compliance with any resulting recommendations 
4.  a minimum of 20 hours of community restitution
5.  disciplinary probation for a minimum of one year upon return to Ohio University

 

Other Drugs and/or Narcotics

Conduct involving D4e (manufacture, distribution, sale of drugs or controlled substances) will likely result in a minimum of one-year suspension with a strong possibility of expulsion.  If a student is suspended, other appropriate educational interventions and activities will be required as well.

 

Conduct involving other D4 drug violations will likely result in: 

1.  a minimum of one semester suspension 
2.  a $150 fine (will be billed to the student's account) 
3.  an alcohol and/or drug assessment and compliance with any resulting recommendations 
4.  a minimum of 20 hours of community restitution
5.  disciplinary probation for a minimum of one year upon their return to Ohio University 
 
Please note:   Subsequent violations of this provision of the Student Code of Conduct may result in longer periods of suspension and/or possible expulsion.  

 

Community Restitution

Every student who is found in violation of an alcohol and/or other drug-related offense will be assigned a minimum of 5 hours of community restitution to be completed within four weeks of the restitution being assigned.
 

Community restitution hours should be completed in Athens County with a non-profit organization or on the Ohio University campus unless granted permission to do otherwise.  It is the responsibility of the student to identify a community restitution provider and arrange to complete the required number of hours.  Students may complete their community restitution hours with more than one provider.  The community restitution hours must be documented with signatures and contact information from the community restitution provider.  Please note that the community restitution supervisor cannot be another Ohio University undergraduate student.  All documentation of community restitution hours must be submitted to the Office of Community Standards and Student Responsibility on the form attached to the student's outcome letter