Ohio University

Robert J. DeMott Short Prose Contest image

Robert J. DeMott Short Prose Contest

Submissions to our 2020 Contest will Open on November 1st

Quarter After Eight Short Prose Contest

Announcing Our 2019 Contest Results:

"The Meaning of Marriage" by Maria McLeod of Bellingham, WA
Selected by Thisbe Nissen

2019 QAE contest winner Maria McLeod

Maria McLeod writes and publishes poetry, fiction, and monologues. Honors include three Pushcart Prize nominations and the Indiana Review Poetry Prize. She’s been published in literary journals such as Puerto Del Sol, Painted Bride Quarterly, Harpoon Review, Critical Quarterly, The Interpreter’s House, Crab Orchard Review, The Brooklyn Rail, and others. To support her creative writing, she’s waited tables, tended bar, modeled nude, mucked stalls, worked retail, taught various genres of writing to nearly every age group, worked as an academic advisor, interviewer, camera operator, PR person, journalist, ghost writer, editor and oral historian. In her most recent incarnation, McLeod serves as an Associate Professor of Journalism for Western Washington University where she rallies for data rights and writing that is clear, concise, and compelling. Originally from the Detroit area, she currently resides in Bellingham, Washington. She earned her MFA in poetry from the University of Pittsburgh.


Peter Krumbach, “Tuesday”
Sarah Allen, “A Fever Breaks”

These pieces will be included in Volume 26 of Quarter After Eight, to be published in March 2020. Click here to order your copy today.

Our 2019 Contest Judge

Thisbe Nissen, author

Photo Credit: Kaitlin Lamoine Photography

Thisbe Nissen is the author of three novels, Our Lady of the Prairie (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018), Osprey Island (Knopf, 2004), and The Good People of New York(Knopf, 2001), and a short-story collection, Out of the Girls’ Room and into the Night (University of Iowa Press, 1999), which won the John Simmons Short Fiction Award. She is co-author with Erin Ergenbright of The Ex-Boyfriend Cookbook, a collection of stories and recipes. Nissen is an Associate Professor of English at Western Michigan University and she has been published in The American Scholar, The Iowa Review, The Virginia Quarterly Review, Seventeen, Vogue, Glamour, Preservation, and The Believer. Learn more at thisbenissen.com(opens in a new window).

Contest Submission Guidelines for 2020

Prize: $1,008.15 + Publication
Judge: TBD
Submissions Open: November 1, 2020

Submit up to three previously unpublished pieces of 500 words or fewer. Send us your best prose poems, short-short stories, micro-essays, etc. To read the work of past winners, see our Table of Contents page.

The entry fee is $15 for three pieces and includes complimentary digital access to QAE volume 27.
Include a title page with your address, phone number, and the title(s) of your submission.
All entries will be considered for publication in Quarter After Eight.

We no longer accept submissions by mail. All entries must be made online through our Submittable page. See link below.

Submissions open on November 1, 2020

Click here to Submit