Ohio University

Search within:

Class of 2018 Kiplinger Fellows announced

Class of 2018 Kiplinger Fellows announced

ATHENS, Ohio—Seventeen journalists from around the globe will gather in central Ohio this April to make up the 2018 Class of the Kiplinger Fellowship.

The editors, reporters and producers represent some of the most distinguished media outlets in the world and were chosen from a field of more than 500 global applicants.

“Another year and another outstanding class for the Kiplinger Fellowship. We are delighted to have such a good cross-section of experience, diversity and media platforms in this year’s class,” Kiplinger Director Kevin Z. Smith said. “In a highly competitive program, we see excellent representation from all over the globe.”

The Kiplinger Fellows will be joined by 16 Chinese business journalists connected with the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University to expand the fellowship to its largest class and give it a truly international flavor.

The Fellows will divide their time between Columbus and Athens, Ohio where they will be immersed in digital and social media training.

“The faculty and students of E.W. Scripps School of Journalism eagerly anticipate the 2018 Kiplinger Program, the first to take place on our campus at Ohio University,” Journalism Director Robert Stewart said. “We expect to benefit as much as contribute to the amazing training provided through the program.”

The 2018 U.S. Kiplinger Fellows are:

  • Louis Aguilar, Detroit News
  • Vince Beiser, Los Angeles freelancer
  • Raquel Godos, Agencia EFE
  • Stephanie Griffith, Agence France-Presse
  • Matthew Hall, San Diego Union-Tribune
  • Kate Howard, Kentucky Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Marisa Kwiatkowski, Indianapolis Star
  • Kira Lerner, ThinkProgress
  • Delano Massey, The Associated Press
  • Taylor Mirfendereski, KING 5 TV Seattle
  • Corinne Segal, PBS Newshour
  • Stephanie Valentic, Penton Informa

International fellows include:

  • Elizabeth Davies, BBC, London
  • Arun Karki, Center for Data Journalism Nepal
  • Narin Sun, Voice of America, Cambodia
  • Angela Ukomadu, Reuters, Nigeria
  • Ekaterina Venkina, Deutsche Welle, Berlin

The Kiplinger Program in Public Affairs Journalism was founded in 1973 from a generous gift by the Kiplinger Foundation in honor of Willard Kiplinger, an Ohio State University 1912 journalism graduate and editor of The Lantern. For 45 years the Kiplinger Program’s mission has been to train mid-career journalists. Each year Kiplinger, through a series of workshops and conferences, educates nearly 1,000 journalists worldwide.

-From staff reports