Ohio University

Search within:

Cutler Scholars announce 15 members of class of 2022

Cutler Scholars announce 15 members of class of 2022
Published: May 21, 2018 Author: Staff reports

Ohio University’s Cutler Scholars Program for community-engaged leaders has selected 15 students for the class of 2022. The incoming Scholars have been accepted into six of Ohio University’s 11 colleges, with majors ranging from film and biological sciences to aviation.

The Cutler Scholars Program is one of Ohio University’s premier scholarship programs, providing financial support, mentorship, and experiential learning opportunities to students who demonstrate the potential to be change-makers and advocates for justice. The program selects students based on their intellectual curiosity, leadership capability, civic engagement and character.

During the four-year scholarship program, Cutler Scholars live together, participate in a weekly colloquium, and take part in four enrichment experiences, including an outdoor leadership experience, public service internship, international experience, and career-related internship. In addition, students receive a significant academic scholarship and annual stipend to support their enrichment experiences.  

The Cutler Scholars of the Class of 2022 are:

  • Peyton Bowe, Cutler, Ohio
  • Sophia Carleton, Reedsville, Ohio
  • Abe Dalisky, Lakewood, Ohio 
  • Gage Daniels, Chillicothe, Ohio
  • Alexis Eberlein, Rocky River, Ohio
  • Ellen Gill, Fleming, Ohio
  • Evan Gilland, Cincinnati, Ohio 
  • Eli Hendrix, Olean, New York
  • Abby Jeffers, Galena, Ohio
  • Danielle Klein, Athens, Ohio 
  • Brenton Louk, Greenfield, Ohio
  • Laura Ndoigo, Nakuru, Kenya
  • Mason Seachrist, Kent, Ohio
  • Daniel Stewart, Jackson, Ohio
  • Nahshon Webb, Richmond, Virginia


Please click here to view bios for the Cutler Scholars Program Class of 2022.

The Cutler Scholars Program began in the mid-1990s as a discussion between alumnus Wilfred R. Konneker and Jack G. Ellis, at that time the University’s vice president for development, about recruiting high-achieving students to Ohio University. Soon after, then-Ohio University President Charles J. Ping joined their discussions, which progressed into the creation of the Cutler Scholars Program, named for the Rev. Manasseh Cutler, co-founder of Ohio University. Students received the first Cutler Scholar awards in the 1996-97 academic year.

For more information on the Cutler Scholars Program, visit http://cutlerscholars.org/

This story was submitted by the Cutler Scholars Program.