Ohio University’s Administrative Senate honors three employees with Outstanding Administrator Awards

Published: June 22, 2023 Author: Staff reports

The Ohio University Administrative Senate honored three employees recently with Outstanding Administrator Awards.

The awards were presented at the Outstanding Administrator and Service Awards Ceremony, held on Tuesday, May 23, in the Walter Rotunda. The event, led by Administrative Senate Chair Jenn Bennett, also presented years of service awards to a large number of OHIO employees.

This year’s recipients of the Outstanding Administrator Awards are:

  • Tia Jameson, assistant athletic director of student-athlete development and inclusion
  • Micah McCarey, director of the LGBT Center
  • Ty Carr, former director of Alumni Diversity Initiatives

First given in 1975, Outstanding Administrator Awards are presented each year to three individuals who exemplify creativity and innovation, along with distinguished service to Ohio University. The winners are chosen by an Administrative Senate committee after a nomination period and an extensive interview process.

The Outstanding Administrator Award is considered the University’s highest honor for administrative employees. Once again this year, the committee had a pool of excellent finalists, showcasing the impressive work done by Ohio University administrators on all campuses.

Assistant Athletic Director of Student-Athlete Development and Inclusion Tia Jameson

As the assistant athletic director of student-athlete development and inclusion, Jameson engages with and mentors student-athletes to ensure their academic success and well-being within the OHIO community. In addition, she provides educational opportunities for diversity and inclusion within the Athletics Department. Colleagues describe Jameson as student-focused and inclusive, as well as a true professional who has the ability to build rapport with students, parents, staff and the community.

One example of Jameson’s impact is with her work with Bobcats Lead Change. This student-led organization helps student-athletes develop into community leaders.

In addition, she is involved with a wide range of campus and community groups including the Martin Luther King Jr Celebration committee, the Juneteenth planning committee, the Real Talk about Big Questions committee, and externally as a board member of Athens Racial Coalition Committee and Athens Racial Equity Fund Advisory Board.  

Jameson has also been nominated to serve on the NCAA Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct Committee, and has volunteered for countless community service projects, from visiting the elderly, assisting the mobile food pantry in The Plains, and reading to young children. 

Director of the LGBT Center Micah McCarey

As the director of the LGBT Center, McCarey has been recognized for building alliances among students, faculty, administrators and the community. In the nominations for McCarey, several people applauded him for his outstanding service.

“In the graduation ceremony for LGBTQUIA+ students, Micah made it so deeply personal. Each student was recognized and seen,” said one of the nominators.  “Most students came from backgrounds where being their true selves was extremely difficult. It was clear that Micah had created even more than a home for them. This love is something that will transcend the students’ time at Ohio University and have a far-reaching effect on their emotional wellbeing.”

McCarey was also recognized for his service on Athens City Council and serving as an ambassador for the city of Athens, Ohio University and the community. In his outstanding work for Ohio University and in the community, his nominators said, McCarey has made a significant impact on policy issues within the community and has accomplished this while involving students in the process.

Director of Alumni Diversity Initiatives Ty Carr

As director of Alumni Diversity Initiatives, Carr was responsible for facilitating meaningful engagement opportunities for alumni within and on behalf of University Advancement. Carr, who recently retired from OHIO, worked for the University for more than 30 years, dedicating his time to making OHIO a more diverse institution and a place where everyone has an opportunity to feel a sense of belonging.

Carr’s nominators for the award described him as “a thoughtful and caring contributor to, and exemplary representative of, Ohio University, as well as being an engaged and highly respected member of the Athens community.”

He was also praised for his ability to be an inclusive, thoughtful leader who builds partnerships and consistently goes above and beyond.

Carr’s commitment to our community over the years has been shown through his involvement on several nonprofit boards including Factory Street Dance, Stuart’s Opera House, Kennedy Museum for the Arts, Ohio Valley Summer Theater, and numerous other organizations that promote diversity and equity locally and nationally.  

Years of Service awards

During the ceremony, OHIO administrators were also honored for their years of service to the University. Awards were presented to individuals who have served 10 to 50 years at OHIO.  A few of the years of service awards of note include:

  • Donald Carter was recognized for 50 years of service to Ohio University. 
  • Vickie Wortman was recognized for 45 years of service to Ohio University. 
  • Kim Hayden and Brad Cecil were recognized for 40 years of service to Ohio University.